DFP Header Area

Connacht name team for Dragons match

Guinness PRO12 Editor

29 Mar 2012

Connacht Rugby have announced the side that will face the Dragons in Rodney Parade this Friday night.

Following last weekend's heroics against play-off hopefuls Munster Head Coach Eric Elwood has opted to make the sparsest of changes with just one switch in the back-line, Tongan international Fetu'u Vainikolo starting on the wing with Kyle Tonetti moving to his more familiar centre in place of the injured Eoin Griffin. Griffin picked up a knee injury in the inter-provincial clash last Saturday.

The successful half-back pairing of Frank Murphy and Miah Nikora continues. Nikora kicked 11 of Connacht's 16 points last weekend, he works inside centres Fa'afili and Tonetti with Tiernan O'Halloran, Fetu'u Vainikolo and captain Gavin Duffy completing the backline.

The pack remains the same and following last week's impressive performance in the scrum and line-out with Irish Wolfhounds Brett Wilkinson and Ronan Loughney either side of try-scorer Ethienne Reynecke in the front-row. Mike McCarthy and Michael Swift make up the second-row and the Academy's Mick Kearney continues his rise through the ranks at blindside flanker, joined by the abrasive Ray Ofisa and talismanic John Muldoon in the back-row.

Connacht Rugby have launched their 2012/13 Season Tickets this week. Building on the success of last seasons sales the exciting offering is loaded with value and provides supporters with an opportunity to see ALL of Connacht's RaboDirect PRO12 home games, European Cup home pool games and British & Irish Cup matches. Full details can be found on www.connachtrugby.ie

Connacht XV v Dragons (Rodney Parade – Friday 30th March 2012 – kick-off 19.15)

15 Gavin Duffy
14 Fetu'u Vainikolo
13 Kyle Tonetti
12 Henry Fa'afili
11 Tiernan O'Halloran
10 Miah Nikora
09 Frank Murphy
01 Brett Wilkinson
02 Ethienne Reynecke
03 Ronan Loughney
04 Michael Swift
05 Mike McCarthy
06 Mick Kearney
07 Ray Ofisa
08 John Muldoon

16 Adrian Flavin
17 Finlay Bealham
18 Rodney Ah You
19 Eoin McKeon
20 Eoghan Grace
21 Paul O'Donohoe
22 Matthew Jarvis
23 Dave McSharry