DFP Header Area

Aironi team for Munster match

Guinness PRO12 Editor

9 Mar 2012

Sunday at Stadio Zaffanella in Viadana sees Aironi play their third home game in a row hosting Munster in the RaboDirect PRO12 round 14. The match was called off one month ago due to heavy snowfall in Italy. Kick-off scheduled is at 3 pm (2 pm GMT), live on RaiSport 2.

Coach Rowland Phillips faces several injuries (Williams, Trevisan, Buso, Denti, Robertson and Viljoen), suspensions (Mauro Bergamasco and Gilberto Pavan) and players away on international duty (ten players are with Italy). There are five changes in the starting line-up. The most important news is Tito Tebaldi starting at fullback, while Matteo Pratichetti is back into action at outside centre alongside Gabriel Pizarro. Riccardo Pavan and Sinoti Sinoti retain their place on the wings.

There’s a new pair of half-backs, where Italian international fly-half Luciano Orquera starts for the first time in a couple of months after returning from injury last week in the game against Leinster. Tyson Keats will play at scrum-half.

The only new face in the pack is Filippo Ferrarini replacing Simone Favaro at flanker in a back row line completed by no.8 Josh Sole and openside flanker Nicola Cattina. Carlo Del Fava is able to play after being hurt against Leinster and plays in the second row with George Biagi. In the front row Matias Aguero and Lorenzo Romano are the props, with hooker Roberto Santamaria skippering the team for the tenth time.

Two permit players from the Italian championship are amongst the replacements: Filippo Cazzola (lock from I Cavalieri Prato, one cap with Aironi) and Emiliano Caffini (back rower from Crociati, who could make his debut in the competition).

AIRONI: 15 Tito Tebaldi; 14 Riccardo Pavan, 13 Matteo Pratichetti, 12 Gabriel Pizarro, 11 Sinoti Sinoti; 10 Luciano Orquera, 9 Tyson Keats; 8 Josh Sole, 7 Nicola Cattina, 6 Filippo Ferrarini; 5 Carlo Del Fava, 4 George Biagi; 3 Lorenzo Romano, 2 Roberto Santamaria, 1 Matias Aguero.

Replacements: 16 Fabio Ongaro, 17 Alberto De Marchi, 18 Salvatore Perugini, 19 Filippo Cazzola, 20 Emiliano Caffini, 21 Giorgio Bronzini, 22 Naas Olivier, 23 Alberto Benettin. Coach: Rowland Phillips.