DFP Header Area


Guinness PRO12 Editor

22 Feb 2012

After losing against two Irish teams, Benetton Treviso continue their Celtic adventure in Wales for Round 16 of the RaboDirect PRO12.

Franco Smith’s team is playing tomorrow (Thursday) at 19:35 (20:35 in Italy) at Parc y Scarlets in Llanelli against the Scarlets, the team coached by Nigel Davies that have just 7 points more than Benetton Treviso in the table.

Treviso are 8th with 28 points, while the Scarlets are 7th with 35 points.

The match will be broadcast live on Radio VenetoUno (FM 97.5), on web streaming, and on television on Rai Sport 2 (channel 58 of the DTT and 228 of Sky), with live commentary by Riccardo Pescante and Andrea Gritti.

Due to some injuries and the selection to the RBS 6 Nations, Benetton Treviso are missing 15 players, including Francesco Minto, who replaces Paul Derbyshire.

The restart of the Italian Campionato di Eccellenza further complicates the situation, as the permit players have to play with their club, so they are not at Benetton Treviso’s disposal.

Franco Smith selects the back three seen in Dublin against Leinster: Ludovico Nitoglia is the full-back, Benjamin De Jager and Brendan Williams are the wingers.

A new young pair is at centre, where Andrea Pratichetti is playing with Tommaso Iannone, who returns in his old role as outside centre.

Willem De Waal and Simon Picone, back in his role as scrum-half, are the reliable half-backs.

Marco Filippucci is confirmed as No. 8, while Gonzalo Padrò and Manoa Vosawai are coming back as first string flankers.

Locks for the match are Valerio Bernabò and Enrico Pavanello, who reaches his 216th cap with Benetton, passing Alessandro Troncon and Piero Dotto and equalling Valter Cristofoletto in the top 10 of Treviso’s all-time most capped players.

Props Pedro Di Santo and Ignacio Fernandez Rouyet, and hooker Franco Sbaraglini – captain for the match – make up the front row.

There are some significant changes also on the bench, where Enrico Ceccato, Augusto Allori and Carlo Fazzari are the replacements for the front row, while Benjamin Vermaak will replace a lock or a back row player.

Diego Vidal is, however, the biggest novelty replacement of the match, as the hooker is likely to replace a back row player.

As for the backs, we will see Gonzalo Garcia, Alberto Di Bernardo, and Ezio Galon, who might replace Simon Picone as scrum-half, reverting to the role he played as a youth player.

Starting line-up:
15 Ludovico Nitoglia
14 Benjamin De Jager
13 Tommaso Iannone
12 Andrea Pratichetti
11 Brendan Williams
10 Willem De Waal
9 Simon Picone

8 Marco Filippucci
7 Gonzalo Padrò
6 Manoa Vosawai
5 Valerio Bernabò
4 Enrico Pavanello
3 Pedro Di Santo
2 Franco Sbaraglini (captain)
1 Ignacio Fernandez Rouyet

On the bench:
16 Enrico Ceccato
17 Augusto Allori
18 Carlo Fazzari
19 Benjamin Vermaak
20 Diego Vidal
21 Ezio Galon
22 Gonzalo Garcia
23 Alberto Di Bernardo

Head Coach: Franco Smith.