DFP Header Area

Connacht XV to face Glasgow Warriors – Updated

Guinness PRO12 Editor

17 Feb 2012

Connacht Rugby have announced the starting XV that will face the Glasgow Warriors this Saturday (The Sportsground, Galway – kick-off 17.30)

Head Coach Eric Elwood has made just one change to last week's team with flanker Ray Ofisa unavailable through a knee injury sustained in that bonus point loss to the Cardiff Blues.

Eoghan Grace claims the number 7 jersey in his absence; the 6'2 openside earned his 1st Connacht cap against Ulster in Ravenhill this season after joining Connacht from the Exeter Chiefs last Summer. Though Grace has been missing for large parts the season through injury he has impressed selectors with outstanding performances for Buccaneers in recent weeks.

Speaking about his call-up Grace said:

"I'm delighted to be selected; it's been a real rollercoaster of a year so to be given the opportunity to start in front of the home crowd is a huge boost. I had a good run at it up in Ulster and it was a huge experience but I'm really looking forward to the Sportsground crowd this weekend. I'm just looking forward to getting stuck in and doing my best, we know what's ahead of us but we also know that past results have gone our way so there's a bit of confidence in the squad."

Connacht Rugby will hold a minute's silence before the game for former colleague David O'Hara who passed away tragically this week. David was a Club Community Rugby Officer who worked with an Ghaeltacht and Oughterard rugby clubs and was also a popular member of Galwegians RFC.

Connacht XV to face Glasgow (The Sportsground, Galway, Saturday 18th Feb, ko 17.30)
15 Gavin Duffy (C)
14 Fetu'u Vainikolo
13 Kyle Tonetti
12 Henry Fa'afili
11 Tiernan O'Halloran
10 Niall O'Connor
09 Paul O'Donohoe

01 Brett Wilkinson
02 Adrian Flavin
03 Ronan Loughney
04 Michael Swift
05 Mike McCarthy
06 John Muldoon
07 Eoghan Grace
08 George Naoupu

16 Ethienne Reynecke
17 Denis Buckley
18 Stewart Maguire
19 Dave Gannon
20 Mick Kearney
21 Dave Moore
22 Matthew Jarvis
23 Eoin Griffin