DFP Header Area

Ospreys team to face Aironi

Guinness PRO12 Editor

16 Feb 2012


The Ospreys team to play Aironi on Friday 17th February 2012 at the Liberty Stadium, kick off at 7.30pm will be as follows:

15 Richard Fussell
14 Hanno Dirksen
13 Andrew Bishop
12 Ashley Beck
11 Eli Walker
10 Dan Biggar
9 Rhys Webb

1 Ryan Bevington
2 Richard Hibbard
3 Joe Rees
4 Alun Wyn Jones (Capt)
5 James King
6 Tom Smith
7 Sam Lewis
8 Joe Bearman


16 Scott Baldwin
17 Duncan Jones
18 Will Taylor
19 James Goode
20 George Stowers
21 Kahn Fotuali’i
22 Matthew Morgan
23 Tom Isaacs

Will Taylor will make his PRO12 debut if he comes off the bench

The following players were not considered because of injury:
Jonathan Thomas – Back
Will Price – ACL
Cai Griffiths – Arm
Aaron Jarvis – Rib
Richard Kelly – Wrist
Ben John – Groin
Gareth Owen – ACL
Nikki Walker – ACL

There are 16 players absent on international duty with Wales, Ireland, Wales U20, and Scotland U20.

Head Coach, Steve Tandy, commented:

“We had a good win up in Edinburgh last weekend, showing great character to tough it out, but it won’t mean anything if we don’t back it up with a good performance this Friday.

“We won’t read anything into Aironi’s league position, they’re a well coached, dangerous team capable of hurting the opposition so we know we’re going to have to play well as a team. With Ulster away next weekend, it’s important that we build some momentum, some form, and start to get some real confidence.

“We’re all looking forward to focusing on the rugby again, and hopefully starting a new era for Ospreys Rugby on a winning note.”

Forthcoming fixtures
Fri 24 Feb – Ulster v Ospreys – Ravenhill – RaboDirect PRO12 – 7.05pm
Fri 2 Mar – Ospreys v Glasgow – Liberty Stadium – RaboDirect PRO12 – 7.05pm
Fri 23 Mar – Leinster v Ospreys – RDS Showground – RaboDirect PRO12 – 7.05pm
Sat 31 Mar – Ospreys v Benetton Treviso – Liberty Stadium – RaboDirect PRO12 – 6.30pm