DFP Header Area

Lineen proud of Warriors’ Scotland contingent

Guinness PRO12 Editor

5 Jan 2012

Glasgow fly-half Duncan Weir shows his handling skills on a day which saw him kick 18 points

Glasgow head coach Sean Lineen maintains the Warriors’ bumper selection in Andy Robinson’s RBS 6 Nations squad is a worthy reflection of their stunning form in the RaboDirect PRO12.


The Warriors boast the biggest contingent of any club with 12 players including three potential debutants while Edinburgh provide nine players for the 36-man squad.

The three new faces are fly-half Duncan Weir, the RaboDirect PRO12 leading points scorer, tearaway flanker Rob Harley and bustling centre Stuart Hogg while Edinburgh winger Lee Jones would also make his debut in the Championship.

Robinson will run the rule over his squad at a get-together at St Andrews on January 23 before he trims the numbers ahead of the opening clash against England on February 4.

But however many Warriors survive the cull, Lineen says it is to the club’s credit that new faces are forcing their way into the Scotland set-up.

“I’m delighted for the 12 players who have been selected, and congratulate them all on a well deserved call-up,” he said.

“It’s great for the club to have so many guys involved, and it reflects well on the results we’ve been achieving so far this season.

“The three uncapped players in particular will be very fired up by this news, and I’m sure we’ll see even better performances from them for Glasgow in the time before they join up with the national squad.”

The tartan Rabo contingent does end there with Cardiff fly-half Dan Parks, Scarlets winger Sean Lamont and Ulster flier Simon Danielli making the cut while Glasgow No.8 Johnnie Beattie misses out.

Scotland squad for the 2012 RBS 6 Nations opening two matches:

Backs: Joe Ansbro (London Irish), Mike Blair (Edinburgh Rugby), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), Simon Danielli (Ulster), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh Rugby), Max Evans (Castres), Stuart Hogg, Ruaridh Jackson (both Glasgow Warriors), Lee Jones, Greig Laidlaw (both Edinburgh Rugby), Rory Lamont (Glasgow Warriors), Sean Lamont (Scarlets), Rory Lawson (Gloucester), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors), Dan Parks (Cardiff Blues), Steven Shingler (London Irish) and Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors)

Forwards: John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), Kelly Brown (Saracens), Geoff Cross, David Denton (both Edinburgh Rugby), Alasdair Dickinson (Sale Sharks), Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby), Richie Gray, Dougie Hall (both Glasgow Warriors), Jim Hamilton (Gloucester), Robert Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh Rugby), Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Lawson (Gloucester), Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors), Fraser McKenzie (Sale Sharks), Euan Murray (Newcastle Falcons), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh Rugby), Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester) and Richie Vernon (Sale Sharks).