DFP Header Area

McGahan forced into Munster changes

Guinness PRO12 Editor

29 Dec 2011

A four day turnaround, injury and the unavailability of his top players means Tony McGahan must once again ring the changes for what is always one of the most difficult assignments of the season.

Mick O'Driscoll, Ian Keatley and Luke O'Dea are the trio who remain while the likes of Danny Barnes and Niall Ronan, after 10 and 11 starts respectively are given a well earned rest.

"Given the very short turnaround and looking at their selection for the Leinster game last week, Ulster have clearly identified this game as the priority." said O'Driscoll. "Understandable really, they're at home, no side likes to lose at their own ground. So I think it sets out very clearly the task we face. But these are the sort of games you want to be judged on.

We've a lot of young lads going there tomorrow. Some for the first time. It's going to be very testing and very interesting."

Munster:D Hurley; L O'Dea, T Gleeson, L Mafi, J Murphy; I Keatley, D Williams; W du Preez, D Varley, S Archer; I Nagle, M O'Driscoll capt; Dave O'Callaghan, T O'Donnell, J Coughlan.
Replacements: D Fogarty, M Horan, J Ryan, B Holland, P Butler, T O'Leary, S Deasy, W Chambers.

Not available (injury): David Wallace (knee); Troy Smith (knee); Felix Jones (foot); Jerry Flannery (calf); Doug Howlett (achilles); Darragh Hurley (back); Mike Sherry (ankle); Peter O'Mahony (jaw); Denis Leamy (hip), Declan Cusack (shoulder); Sean Scanlon (shoulder).
Not available for selection (IRFU policy): Paul O'Connell, Donncha O'Callaghan, Donncha Ryan, Conor Murray, Ronan O'Gara, Keith Earls,