DFP Header Area

Aironi Team Announcement – 3 Changes for Edinburgh

Guinness PRO12 Editor

1 Dec 2011

Three players return for Aironi as the Italian side go to Edinburgh for Round 10 of the RaboDirect PRO12.

Friday evening in Murrayfield (kick-off 7:30 pm), hooker Roberto Santamaria and centres Gabriel Pizarro and Matteo Pratichetti are back in action. Sinoti Sinoti shifts to the wing in a positional change.

The rest of the team is unchanged, with the young Italian duo of fullback Ruggero Trevisan and wing Giovanbattista Venditti completing the back line. In the halves, with Luciano Orquera still injured, Naas Olivier and Tito Tebaldi continue their partnership. The back row of Josh Sole, Nicola Cattina and Filippo Ferrarini remains, with the latter looking to cement his place after the good stint against Cardiff in his first appearance as a starter.

George Biagi and Quintin Geldenhuys pair up in the second row, with the Italian International skippering the team, while props Fabio Staibano and Alberto De Marchi complete the front row with Roberto Santamaria hooking.

Coming back from the Barbarians match against Australia, both Salvatore Perugini and Marco Bortolami will start amongst the replacements together with Tommaso D’Apice, Lorenzo Romano, Frans Viljoen, Tyson Keats, Gilberto Pavan and Giulio Toniolatti.

It will be the second season match between the two teams, with Aironi collecting their only win of the season so far in Viadana on September 24, 25-19, with tries from Nick Williams, Tito Tebaldi and Naas Olivier (and another 10 points kicked by the South African fly-half). Since that result, Aironi have accumulated seven losses in a row.

15 Ruggero Trevisan; 14 Sinoti Sinoti, 13 Matteo Pratichetti, 12 Gabriel Pizarro, 11 Giovanbattista Venditti; 10 Naas Olivier, 9 Tito Tebaldi; 8 Josh Sole, 7 Filippo Ferrarini, 6 Nicola Cattina; 5 George Biagi, 4 Quintin Geldenhuys (cap); 3 Fabio Staibano, 2 Roberto Santamaria, 1 Alberto De Marchi.

Replacements: 16 Tommaso D’Apice, 17 Salvatore Perugini, 18 Lorenzo Romano, 19 Marco Bortolami, 20 Frans Viljoen, 21 Tyson Keats, 22 Gilberto Pavan, 23 Giulio Toniolatti.

Coach: Rowland Phillips.