DFP Header Area

Aironi make six changes to face Glasgow

Guinness PRO12 Editor

4 Nov 2011

Aironi try to complete a Scottish sweep as they face Glasgow at Stadio Zaffanella in Viadana Saturday at 2,30 pm (1,30 pm UK time). After beating Edinburgh in round 4, the Italian side looks for its second win of the season against the Warriors.

To achieve this target, coach Rowland Phillips has made six changes to his starting XV. In the backs, Italian internationals Giulio Toniolatti and Matteo Pratichetti start on the wing and at inside centre respectively. The half back pairing also changes from last week. Tito Tebaldi and Naas Olivier are back as starters, with Tyson Keats and Luciano Orquera ready to come in from the replacements.

In the pack, Nick Williams returns to wear the no. 8 jersey, with Simone Favaro and Nicola Cattina starting at flanker. The last change is in the second row, where Quintin Geldenhuys pairs up with captain Marco Bortolami. The front row is unchanged from the Munster clash, with Fabio Staibano and Matias Aguero as props and Fabio Ongaro hooking.

“Glasgow come to us off the back of a great win against the Ospreys, while we played a very good game in Cork against Munster”, says Ongaro.

“That means both teams are ready to play tomorrow’s (Saturday’s) game in the best way. For the internationals it will be the first game back in Viadana, and this is an added stimulus for us. We must approach the game as we did in Cork, with the right attitude to play mindful defense and a more concrete offence. As always, set pieces will be fundamental”
AIRONI: 15 Ruggero Trevisan; 14 Giulio Toniolatti, 13 Andrea Masi, 12 Matteo Pratichetti, 11 Sinoti Sinoti; 10 Naas Olivier, 9 Tito Tebaldi; 8 Nick Williams, 7 Simone Favaro, 6 Nicola Cattina; 5 Marco Bortolami (cap), 4 Quintin Geldenhuys; 3 Fabio Staibano, 2 Fabio Ongaro, 1 Matias Aguero.

Replacements: 16 Roberto Santamaria, 17 Salvatore Perugini, 18 Luca Redolfini, 19 George Biagi, 20 Josh Sole, 21 Tyson Keats, 22 Luciano Orquera, 23 Gabriel Pizarro. Coach: Rowland Phillips.

REFEREE: Dudley Phillips (Ireland).