DFP Header Area

Leinster team to face Connacht

Guinness PRO12 Editor

7 Oct 2011

The Leinster team to face Connacht in Saturday evening’s RaboDirect PRO 12 clash in the RDS (KO: 5pm) has been named.

Kevin McLaughlin returns to the Leinster side after missing the recent victories over the Scarlets and Aironi through injury and he starts alongside Leo Auva'a and skipper Rhys Ruddock in the back-row. Heinke van der Merwe, Richardt Strauss and Jamie Hagan continue in the front row.

At half back Cillian Willis partners Ian Madigan, who scored his third try in five league games in the 26-7 win over Aironi last weekend, while Luke Fitzgerald continues his centre partnership with Eoin O'Malley.

Fionn Carr, David Kearney and Isa Nacewa complete the backline.

Saturday's game has been themed 'Kids Takeover' with a family fun evening in store which will see young Leinster supporters from across the province take on the running of the match day activities. Young boys and girls will be involved in a range of tasks on the night including announcing the teams to the stadium, delivering the match ball and some will even be turned into mini sports reporters as they conduct interviews with the squad.

A family of four can attend the game for just €65 (family ticket). Over 15,100 tickets have already been sold and tickets are still on sale at the Leinster Rugby Store (Donnybrook), Spar (Donnybrook) as well as Ticketmaster outlets nationwide.

15: Isa Nacewa
14: Fionn Carr
13: Eoin O'Malley
12: Luke Fitzgerald
11: David Kearney
10: Ian Madigan
9: Cillian Willis

1: Heinke van der Merwe
2: Richardt Strauss
3: Jamie Hagan
4: Steven Sykes
5: Devin Toner
6: Kevin McLaughlin
7: Rhys Ruddock CAPTAIN
8: Leo Auva'a


16: Aaron Dundon
17: Jack McGrath
18: Nathan White
19: Damian Browne
20: Dominic Ryan
21: John Cooney
22: Brendan Macken
23: Darren Hudson