DFP Header Area

Excitement mounts for arrival of the Champions

Guinness PRO12 Editor

29 Sep 2011

Edinburgh Rugby head coach Michael Bradley has made three personnel changes to the side that will take on current champions and league-leaders, Munster at Murrayfield Friday night (kick-off 7.30pm).

Currently top of the division, the arrival of the current champions and two-time Heineken Cup winners is preceded by their reputation, while their current form of four straight wins points to a tough test for Edinburgh’s young squad.

The Munster match also offers Murrayfield’s up-close crowd a particularly tantalising battle on the wing as Edinburgh Rugby’s record breaking try-scorer, Tim Visser, goes head to head with Munster’s 62-times capped All Black flyer, Doug Howlett.

Speaking at today’s press conference, Michael Bradley said: “The boys are really looking forward to the match.
“Munster are a side that are historically strong in the RaboDirect PRO12, they’re the current champions and are off to a great start this season, so it’s a good target for us to aim for.

“Munster are, amongst other things, very competitive at the breakdown. We have to be conscious of their strong kicking game and of the positional pressure points they’ll try to do squeeze.

“We need to be consistent in our delivery, accurate in our play (in attack and defence) and maintain absolute concentration for the full 80 minutes; if we do that we’ll create opportunities and we’ll score. If we don’t, Munster will punish us.

“When we compete and go forward with quality ball, supporters will see some quality attacking play while, on the Munster side, they will look to keep it tight, put pressure on us and play in the right areas.

“Contrasting styles will be on display from the two sides and hopefully the home side will prevail.”

Bradley has made three personnel changes for the visit of Munster.

Matt Scott is the only change to the backs, making his first start since the side’s last-minute heart-breaker against Ospreys at the Liberty Stadium.

Scott’s reintroduction to the backline sees Jim Thompson shuffle outfield to his preferred position of full-back, displacing Tom Brown to the bench.

Up front Lewis Niven (prop) and Grant Gilchrist (lock) come back to start in the tight-five in place of Shaun Knight (bench) and Steven Turnbull, who is replaced in the squad by Esteban Lozada.

The final change to the 23 welcomes the return of Phil Godman (stand-off) who starts on the bench.

Edinburgh Rugby team to play Munster at Murrayfield Stadium tomorrow (Friday 30 September, kick-off 7.30pm)
15 Jim Thompson
14 Lee Jones
13 Matt Scott
12 James King
11 Tim Visser
10 Gregor Hunter
9 Greig Laidlaw
1 Kyle Traynor
2 Steven Lawrie
3 Lewis Niven
4 Grant Gilchrist
5 Sean Cox
6 David Denton
7 Roddy Grant
8 Stuart McInally
16 Alun Walker
17 Robin Hislop
18 Shaun Knight
19 Esteban Lozada
20 Hamish Watson
21 Chris Leck
22 Phil Godman
23 Tom Brow