DFP Header Area

Quarteroli the only change for Aironi

Guinness PRO12 Editor

23 Sep 2011

Roberto Quartaroli returns to the starting line-up for Aironi after a week out. This is the only change for Aironi’s RaboDirect PRO12 week 4 clash against Edinburgh at Satdio Zaffanella (kick-off at 3pm Italian time).

The Italians look for their first win of the season and the young centre will replace injured Gilberto Pavan.

The rest of the team is unchanged, including lock George Biagi, who lived and studied in Edinburgh for a long time before returning to Italy to play rugby: “It will not be a personal derby, because I never played for Edinburgh. But it’s just a game I want to win for the team. It’s another game we want to win”. After three weeks of games, Biagi is the only player together with Naas Olivier to have played all 240 minutes for the Aironi side, using this period without the internationals to carve an important role for himself leading the Aironi line-out. “With the guys at the World Cup, it is my time and everything is going well. I have this opportunity and I must continue to make the most of it”.

Not only Biagi, of course, but the whole Aironi team look at Saturday’s game as the one to win after two narrow losses against Ulster and Dragons: “We must be calmer during the game. They had a late win last year in Viadana, this time we want to avenge that. Of course, after three games they should know us very well. They will play a very physical game, trying to get the ball wide. We must be ready in every zone”.

Before the game, Aironi players will wear t-shirts signed by Admo, the Italian Bone Marrow Donor Association, to support the National day for donations.

AIRONI: 15 Ruggero Trevisan; 14 Sinoti Sinoti, 13 Roberto Quartaroli, 12 Gabriel Pizarro, 11 Giovanbattista Venditti; 10 Naas Olivier, 9 Tito Tebaldi; 8 Nick Williams, 7 Nicola Cattina, 6 Frans Viljoen; 5 George Biagi, 4 Joshua Furno; 3 Fabio Staibano, 2 Roberto Santamaria (cap), 1 Matias Aguero.

Replacements: 16 Davide Giazzon, 17 Alberto De Marchi, 18 Luca Redolfini, 19 Josh Sole, 20 Simone Favaro, 21 Tyson Keats, 22 Alberto Benettin, 23 Riccardo Pavan.

Coach. Rowland Philllips.
Referee: Peter Allan (Sru)