DFP Header Area

Continued improvements needed for back to back Edinburgh wins

Guinness PRO12 Editor

23 Sep 2011

Head coach Michael Bradley has made two personnel changes to the Edinburgh Rugby side that beat Connacht 19-14 at Murrayfield last weekend for Saturday’s RaboDirect PRO12 match against Aironi at the Stadio Zaffanella (kick-off 2pm BST).

The Connacht match was the club’s first win of the 2011/12 season and they now travel to Viadana for their third match against the Italians since their inauguration into the competition last year, the most recent encounter on away terms requiring a late Allan Jacobsen try to secure the narrowest of victories (10-9).

Head coach Michael Bradley said: “We travel to Italy seeking to build on the momentum earned from a hard-fought win over Connacht last weekend, and do so with the confidence gained from getting our league campaign off to a start.

“Training has gone well this week and we’re looking forward to a match in weather conditions that suit the way Edinburgh Rugby like to play the game.

“As is often the case with Italian teams, Aironi are a very proud and physical side, capable of raising their game for their home support, as you can see by their recent performance against a strong Ulster side.

“Our performances have improved week on week and we need to continue that progression at the Stadio Zaffanella if we are to record back-to-back wins in the RaboDirect PRO12.”

Stand-off Gregor Hunter and number 8 Stuart McInally (pictured) are Bradley’s two starting changes.

Hunter’s reintroduction means that Chris Leck starts on the bench with captain, Greig Laidlaw, returning to his favoured scrum-half position.

McInally’s return to the fold brings about a shuffle of the back five, with David Denton moving to the blind-side flank and Sean Cox moving to pack down with Steven Turnbull in the second-row.

On the bench Harry Leonard (stand-off/centre) prepares to make his club debut having performed admirably for Boroughmuir, while Alun Walker (hooker) and Hamish Watson (back-row) are also reintroduced to the squad.

Edinburgh Rugby team to play Aironi at the Stadio Zaffanella tomorrow (24 September, KO 2pm BST)
15 Tom Brown
14 Lee Jones
13 Jim Thompson
12 James King
11 Tim Visser
10 Gregor Hunter
9 Greig Laidlaw
1 Kyle Traynor
2 Steven Lawrie
3 Shaun Knight
4 Sean Cox
5 Steven Turnbull
6 David Denton
7 Roddy Grant
8 Stuart McInally
16 Alun Walker
17 Robin Hislop
18 Lewis Niven
19 Grant Gilchrist
20 Hamish Watson
21 Chris Leck
22 Harry Leonard
23 Matt Scott