DFP Header Area

Benetton Treviso Team Announcement

Guinness PRO12 Editor

9 Sep 2011

Benetton Treviso play their first away game of this RaboDirect PRO12 season on Sunday. Head Coach Franco Smith makes a few changes for their visit to the Cardiff City Stadium this weekend.

The South African coach wants to gain the teams’ first away win against Cardiff Blues since December 2007, which would also be their first in the RaboDirect PRO12.

After losing at home against Connacht, some well-known names are named in Benetton Treviso’s starting XV – especially in the backs.

Augusto Allori, Michele Rizzo and Franco Sbaraglini start in the front row, as well as Antonio Pavanello and Valerio Bernabò playing again as locks.

There is one change the back row, with Benjamin Vermaak replacing Marco Filippucci, which will add a new dimension to the Treviso line-out.

Simon Picone returns at scrum-half, together with Kristopher Burton at fly-half. Willem De Waal, the man who scored all Benetton Treviso’s points last Saturday, is starting from the bench.

Ludovico Nitoglia is playing at full-back and is joined in the back three by Benjamin De Jager and Brendan Williams who are playing as wingers.

Luca Morisi is confirmed at centre alongside with Ezio Galon.

Benetton Treviso’s new signing Tommaso Iannone is also starting from the bench.

Starting lineup:

15 Ludovico Nitoglia
14 Benjamin De Jager
13 Ezio Galon
12 Luca Morisi
11 Brendan Williams
10 Kristopher Burton
9 Simon Picone
8 Manoa Vosawai
7 Benjamin Vermaak
6 Francesco Minto
5 Valerio Bernabò
4 Antonio Pavanello (captain)
3 Augusto Allori
2 Franco Sbaraglini
1 Michele Rizzo

On the bench:

16 Diego Vidal
17 Matteo Muccignat
18 Pedro Di Santo
19 Gonzalo Padrò
20 Marco Filippucci
21 Willem De Waal
22 Alberto Chillon
23 Tommaso Iannone

Head Coach: Franco Smith