DFP Header Area

Ulster name 28 man squad for Aironi clash

Guinness PRO12 Editor

6 Sep 2011

Brian McLaughlin has named a preliminary 28 man squad in the build up to Saturday’s RaboDirect PRO12 match versus Aironi at the Stadio Zaffanella (kick off 2pm BST).

Ulster are looking for a second consecutive win to continue their early challenge at the top of the league. After an impressive opening win against Glasgow at the weekend, the Ulster squad will be confident of registering a first away win of the campaign in Italy.

The Ulster management team will perhaps be disappointed that they were unable to gain a four-try bonus point, yet pleased that a number of opportunities were created despite poor handling conditions.

Dan Tuohy returned to competitive action and turned in a tremendous display in the set pieces and especially in the loose. The lively centre partnership of Nevin Spence and Darren Cave was another major positive to be taken from the game.

Aironi have recruited well in the close season and while Ulster will be targeting a win on Saturday, they will be expecting to face a much stiffer challenge than they came up against last season.

The Italians improved throughout the campaign and the 8 losing bonus points they secured demonstrated that they are not an easy team to play.

Ulster Squad Forwards
Paddy McAllister, Callum Black, Jerry Cronin, Adam Macklin, Declan Fitzpatrick, John Burns, Andi Kyriacou, Nigel Brady, Lewis Stevenson, Dan Tuohy, Tim Barker, Neil McComb, Michael McComish, Pedrie Wannenburg, Willie Faloon, Chris Henry (capt), Robbie Diack

Ulster Squad Backs
Paul Marshall, Ian Porter, Ian Humphreys, Paddy Jackson, Luke Marshall, Nevin Spence, Ian Whitten, Darren Cave, Craig Gilroy, Conor Gaston, Adam D’Arcy