DFP Header Area

Benetton Rugby team announcement

Guinness PRO12 Editor

2 Sep 2011

Benetton will kick off against Connacht in the RaboDirect PRO12 on Saturday (3pm).

The Irish team from Galway, Connacht, will be the first opponent this season. Last year Connacht and Benetton shared one narrow win each against each other.

Franco Smith announced the starting XV for tomorrow’s match. Many debutants will be on the pitch, replacing a dozen players heading to the Rugby World Cup in New Zealand.

In the front row, Augusto Allori is playing tight-head, Michele Rizzo is playing loose-head prop, and Franco Sbaraglini is playing hooker.

Antonio Pavanello and Valerio Bernabò are the two locks, while the back row will be Marco Filippucci, Francesco Minto and Manoa Vosawai.

Alberto Chillon is playing scrum-half with Willem De Waal at fly-half.

In the back three: Ludovico Nitoglia is playing full-back and Michele Sepe and Brendan Williams are playing as wingers. The big change is at centre: Andrea Pratichetti and Kristopher Burton, who is going to support De Waal.

On the bench: Diego Vidal, Matteo Muccignat, Pedro Di Santo, Gonzalo Padrò, Benjamin Vermaak, Simon Picone, Alberto Di Bernardo and Benjamin De Jager.

Dudley Phillips from the Irish Union is to referee the match.

Starting Lineup:

15 Ludovico Nitoglia
14 Michele Sepe
13 Kristopher Burton
12 Andrea Pratichetti
11 Brendan Williams
10 Willem De Waal
9 Alberto Chillon
8 Manoa Vosawai
7 Francesco Minto
6 Marco Filippucci
5 Valerio Bernabò
4 Antonio Pavanello (captain)
3 Augusto Allori
2 Franco Sbaraglini
1 Michele Rizzo


16 Diego Vidal
17 Matteo Muccignat
18 Pedro Di Santo
19 Gonzalo Padrò
20 Benjamin Vermaak
21 Simon Picone
22 Alberto Di Bernardo
23 Benjamin De Jager

Head Coach: Franco Smith.