DFP Header Area

Magners League provides seven Babaas

Guinness PRO12 Editor

26 May 2011


The Magners League will be well represented when the Barbarians take on England this weekend.

A total of seven of the League’s stars will be in action for the world’s most famous invitation team at Twickenham on Sunday.

Edinburgh wing Tim Visser is rewarded for another superb season as he is named in a quality-looking starting XV.

Visser finished as the League’s top try scorer for the second year in a row after collecting 14 tries in 21 starts.

The 23-year-old Dutch-born but soon to be Scottish qualified flyer played the full 80 minutes in every single one of his Magners League matches this term, only missing the home tie with Benetton Treviso back in early November.

Ulster scrum-half Ruan Pienaar is also included in a French-dominated backline for the trip to English Rugby’s headquarters. The influential Springbok will be hoping to take his club form on to the international stage after being voted the Magners League Players’ Player of the Year earlier this month.

In the pack, Salvatore Perugini of Aironi starts at loosehead prop, with Treviso’s Leonardo Ghiraldini named at hooker.

Cardiff Blues club captain Paul Tito is selected in the second row, with team-mate Martyn Williams joining Aironi’s Quintin Geldenhuys among the replacements.

Italian No8 Sergio Parisse skippers a side which includes seven players from Toulon in the matchday 22.

Paul Sackey is the only Englishman named in a squad coached by Magners League duo Dai Young and Scott Johnson, while Australian Willie Mason looks set to make his Rugby Union debut just days after switching from Rugby League.


15. Nicolas Jeanjean (Brive)
14. Paul Sackey (Toulon)
13. Benoit Baby (Clermont Auvergne)
12. Mathieu Bastareaud (Stade Francais)
11. Tim Visser (Edinburgh Rugby)
10. Frederic Michalak (Toulouse)
9. Ruan Pienaar (Ulster)

1.Salvatore Perugini (Aironi)
2. Leonardo Ghiraldini (Benetton Treviso)
3. Davit Kubriashvili (Toulon)
4. Erik Lund (Biarritz)
5. Paul Tito (Cardiff Blues)
6. Joe van Niekerk (Toulon)
7. George Smith (Toulon)
8. Sergio Parisse (Stade Francais)


16. Sebastien Bruno (Toulon)
17. Carl Hayman (Toulon)
18. Quintin Geldenhuys (Aironi)
19. Martyn Williams (Cardiff Blues)
20. Sebastien Tillous-Borde (Castres Olympique)
21. Willie Mason (Toulon)
22. Seru Rabini (La Rochelle)