DFP Header Area

Aironi’s internationals back for Edinburgh

Guinness PRO12 Editor

14 Apr 2011

In their last away match of the season, Aironi’s internationals return in the starting line-up for the first time since the end of Six Nations.

With the exception of the injured Carlo Del Fava, the XV includes captain Quintin Geldenhuys, scrum half Pablo Canavosio, prop Salvatore Perugini and hooker Fabio Ongaro.

It will be a very different team from the one that lost 16-17 to Glasgow two weeks ago – their second one-point defeat by a Scottish team at home.

Rubini is confirmed at fullback, Kaine Robertson and Demas return to the wing, whilst Pavan and Pratichetti play at centre. Pablo Canavosio and James No.8 as usual, while Gareth Krause is back. Nicola Cattina shifts to blindside replacing Josh Sole, who is suspended after collecting the third yellow card of the season. Experienced players feature in the front five, with captain Quintin Geldenhuys alongside Marco Bortolami in the second row. Ulyses Gamboa and Salvatore Perugini at prop and Fabio Ongaro hooking.

15 Giulio Rubini
14 Kaine Robertson
13 Gilberto Pavan
12 Matteo Pratichetti
11 Danwel Demas
10 James Marshall
9 Pablo Canavosio
1 Salvatore Perugini
2 Fabio Onagro
3 Ulyses Gamboa
4 Marco Bortolami
5 Quintin Geldenhuys (cap)
6 Nicola Cattina
7 Gareth Krause
8 Nick Williams

(Replacements: 16 Luigi Ferraro, 17 Alberto De Marchi, 18 Fabio Staibano, 19 George Biagi, 20 Jaco Erasmus, 21 Tito Tebaldi, 22 Gabriel Pizarro, 23 Riccardo Bocchino). Coach: Phillips.