DFP Header Area

Connacht XV to face Aironi

Guinness PRO12 Editor

25 Mar 2011

Connacht Rugby have announced the starting XV that will face Aironi this Saturday at the Stadio Zaffanella (kick-off 4.30pm).

Head Coach Eric Elwood has picked a similar side to the team that beat Aironi in The Sportsground 2 weeks ago with the only change to the starting XV being Sean Cronin’s return from international duty at hooker. The Limerick native has 44 Magners League caps for Connacht in his 3 seasons and appeared in all of Irelands 6 Nations matches this year bringing his total number of international caps to 12. Mike McCarthy continues his successful partnership with Michael Swift in the second row. McCarthy recently signed a new 2 year deal with the Province and the 29 year olds superb form this season saw him called into the Irish squad and earning his first cap for the Ireland Wolfhounds against the English Saxons.

Miah Nikora’s knee injury ruled him out of contention this weekend and his place is taken by Shane Monahan on the bench in the only other change to the matchday 23.

The match is not being televised but supporters can follow all the action live on the Connacht Rugby Facebook page at www.facebook.com/connachtrugby

Connacht XV to face Aironi – Saturday 26th March Stadio Zaffanella ko 4.30

1 Brett Wilkinson
2 Sean Cronin
3 Jamie Hagan
4 Michael Swift
5 Mike McCarthy
6 Andrew Browne
7 Johnny O’Connor ©
8 Ray Ofisa
9 Frank Murphy
10 Ian Keatley
11 Fionn Carr
12 Troy Nathan
13 Niva Ta’auso
14 Brian Tuohy
15 Gavin Duffy

16 Adrian Flavin
17 Ronan Loughney
18 Rodney Ah You
19 Bernie Upton
20 John Muldoon
21 Cillian Willis
22 Keith Matthews
23 Shane Monahan