DFP Header Area

Aironi team to face Connacht

Guinness PRO12 Editor

25 Mar 2011

Aironi will be looking for their first ever Magners League victory when they face Connacht at Stadio Zaffanella, 5.30 pm local time (4.30 GMT) this Saturday.

The teams met for the first time two weeks ago, with Connacht winning11-6 in the snow. This match will be different, with expected temperatures of over 20° in Viadana. Aironi’s starting XV will also look different. Giulio Rubini is back in the starting line-up at fullback, in a position he played for Rugby Parma in the Italian Super 10, and also for Italy when he made his international debut during the 2009 Six Nations tournament.

James Marshall, who started at fullback in the last two games, returns at fly-half.

Coach Rowland Phillips has bet again on a couple of speedy wings – Kaine Robertson and Danwel Demas, while Matteo Pratichetti and Gabriel Pizarro play in the centre. There is just one change in the pack from the team that played in Galway, with Fabio Staibano returning at tighthead prop.

The only International returning from the Six Nations in the 23-man list is Pablo Canavosio, who will start in the replacements.


15 Giulio Rubini
14 Kaine Robertson
13 Matteo Pratichetti
12 Gabriel Pizarro
11 Danwel Demas
10 James Marshall
9 Tito Tebaldi
1 Alberto De Marchi
2 Roberto Santamaria
3 Fabio Staibano
4 Joshua Furno
5 Marco Bortolami (cap)
6 Josh Sole
7 Gareth Krause
8 Nick Williams

16 Fabio Ongaro
17 Andrea De Marchi
18 Luca Redolfini
19 George Biagi
20 Nicola Cattina
21 Pablo Canavosio
22 Riccardo Bocchino
23 Horacio San Martin