DFP Header Area

Two changes for Ireland

Guinness PRO12 Editor

17 Mar 2011


Ireland have made two changes for their game against England on Saturday with Ulster’s Andrew Trimble and Leinster’s Jonathan Sexton called into the starting line-up.

Trimble will make his first start of the 2011 RBS 6 Nations on the left wing as Keith Earls moves to full-back in place of Luke Fitzgerald.

At half-back Sexton has been recalled to the starting line-out with Munster playmaker Ronan O’Gara moving to the replacements bench.

Eoin Reddan has made good progress from the concussion he received in last Saturday's match against Wales and will visit a neurologist this week to confirm he is fit to play.

The pack is unchanged for the fourth successive game, with lock Paul O'Connell set to win his 75th cap.

"If Luke has made any errors recently it's probably because he's tried too hard. He's probably been outstretching himself and his timing is just a small bit off,” said Declan Kidney.

"Andrew has been knocking on the door for quite some time, Keith has been going well and I just think it's a good combination for us to have this weekend.

"Andrew was showing great form up to the Six Nations, he was going really well for Ulster and then picked up anunfortunate bang. He's fought his way back through matches with Ulster and training with ourselves to justify his place.

"We've two good number 10s in Jonathan and Ronan. In the same way that I felt after the French match that it was right to give Ronan a go there, he got the next two…I just feel it's the right time to give Jonathan a start here."

15 – Keith Earls (Thomond/Munster)
14 – Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
13 – Brian O'Driscoll (UCD/Leinster) (capt)
12 – Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
11 – Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
10 – Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary's College/Leinster)
9 – Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
1 – Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
2 – Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
3 – Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
4 – Donncha O'Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
5 – Paul O'Connell (Young Munster/Munster)
6 – Sean O'Brien (Clontarf/Leinster)
7 – David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster)
8 – Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster)

16 – Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht)
17 – Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)
18 – Leo Cullen (Blackrock College/Leinster)
19 – Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Munster)
20 – Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster)
21 – Ronan O'Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)
22 – Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)