DFP Header Area

Connacht XV to face Aironi

Guinness PRO12 Editor

10 Mar 2011

Connacht have today announced their team to face Aironi in the Sportsground this Friday, 11th of March, 7.35pm.

This re-scheduled fixture is the first meeting of any sort between the teams and the only Magners League Fixture this weekend.

Connacht are on a good run of late winning five out of their last six games in all competitions with the only loss coming at the hands of last season's Magners League champions the Ospreys. Aironi on the other hand are still at the foot of the table but have put in some very impressive performances of late ,including last week in Ravenhill where they put in a spirited performance against Ulster.

Connacht’s team shows one change from the XV that beat Treviso last Friday. Hooker Sean Cronin has been selected in the Ireland squad to face Wales in the 6 Nations, so Adrian Flavin returns to the front row with Dermot Murphy coming in to the bench.

The other change on the bench is the return of club captain John Muldoon after a three month lay-off with a broken arm. Muldoon suffered the injury in December’s Amlin Challenge Cup tie with Harlequins, and his return is a welcome boost to a Connacht back-row that has been outstanding of late. With Muldoon on the bench, the team will again be captained by Galwayman Johnny O’Connor. The centurion has been leading by example on the pitch since he stepped in to the breach, showing his tenacity at the breakdown and winning two man-of-the-match awards.

Connacht would also like to re-assure fans that all tickets bought for the original fixture in December are valid for tomorrow’s encounter. There will be a family atmosphere in the Sportsground with face painting and some goodies for kids. Tickets are on sale now.

Connacht Team to face Aironi (The Sportsground, Friday 11/03/11, 7.35pm)

15 Duffy, Gavin
14 Tuohy, Brian
13Ta’auso, Niva
12 Nathan, Troy
11 Carr, Fionn
10 Keatley, Ian
09 Murphy, Frank
01 Wilkinson, Brett
02 Flavin, Adrian
03 Hagan, Jamie
04 Swift, Michael
05 McCarthy, Michael
06 Browne, Andrew
07 OConnor, Johnny (C)
08 Ofisa, Ray

16 Murphy, Dermot
17 Loughney, Ronan
18 Ah You, Rodney
19 Bernie, Upton
20 Muldoon, John
21 Willis, Cillian
22 Nikora, Miah
23 Matthews, Keith