DFP Header Area

Aironi make one change to face Connacht

Guinness PRO12 Editor

10 Mar 2011

There’s just one change in the Aironi starting XV to face Connacht on Friday evening in Galway (kick-off at 7,35 pm).

Tito Tebaldi returns at scrum-half, as loaned player Pietro Travagli returns to Petrarca Padova to play in the Italian championship. James Marshall will be positioned at fullback, with Riccardo Bocchino playing fly-half. Danwel Demas and Kaine Robertson are at the wings, while Matteo Pratichetti and Gilberto Pavan will play at centre.

The back row sees Nick Williams, Gareth Krause and Josh Sole, while captain Marco Bortolami plays lock alongside Joshua Furno in the second row. Ulyses Gamboa, Roberto Santamaria and Alberto De Marchi form the front row.

Speaking after the fine performance against Ulster last weekend coach Rowland Phillips said “The most positive thing from the last game was that, after the first 20 minutes, we started to play our game not only to be competitive, but to win the game.

We showed good structures both in offense and defense to dominate the second half at Ulster. If we are able to build on that performance, it could be another step toward the first win.”

Aironi Team

15 James Marshall
14 Kaine Robertson
13 Gilberto Pavan
12 Matteo Pratichetti
11 Danwel Demas
10 Riccardo Bocchino
9 Tito Tebaldi
8 Nick Williams
7 Gareth Krause
6 Josh Sole
5 Marco Bortolami (cap)
4 Joshua Furno
3 Ulyses Gamboa
2 Roberto Santamaria
1 Alberto De Marchi

16 Luigi Ferraro
17 Andrea De Marchi
18 Luca Redolfini
19 George Biagi
20 Nicola Cattina
21 Giulio Toniolatti
22 Gabriel Pizarro
23 Giulio Rubini