DFP Header Area

Aironi-Munster – First start for Travagli and D’Apice

Guinness PRO12 Editor

25 Feb 2011

Sunday’s Aironi-Munster will be the first match for permit players Pietro Travagli and Tommaso D’Apice as starters for the Italian franchise.

Kick-off is scheduled at 2 pm (1 pm GMT) at Stadio Zaffanella in Viadana; with Welshman David Jones the designated match referee.

There are four other changes in the Aironi starting line-up from the team who lost to the Dragons last Sunday.
Coach Rowland Phillips and his staff have changed both centres, with Gilberto Pavan and Matteo Pratichetti replacing San Martin and Pizarro, whilst Danwel Demas returns at fullback in place of the injured Julien Laharrague, who fractured his right hand during a training session on Thursday.

Kaine Robertson and Giulio Toniolatti take up positions on the wings with a completely new duo playing at halfback, James Marshall at 10 and Pietro Travagli (9 caps for Italy) at scrum-half.

Another International, Josh Sole, returns in a back row completed by Gareth Krause and Nick Williams. Captain Marco Bortolami and Joshua Furno are confirmed in the second row, while former Azzurri Under 20 hooker Tommaso D’Apice will start for the first time in a front row with props Fabio Staibano and Alberto De Marchi.

Aironi: 15 Danwel Demas; 14 Kaine Robertson, 13 Gilberto Pavan, 12 Matteo Pratichetti, 11 Giulio Toniolatti; 10 James Marshall, 9 Pietro Travagli; 8 Nick Williams, 7 Gareth Krause, 6 Josh Sole; 5 Marco Bortolami (c), 4 Joshua Furno; 3 Fabio Staibano, 2 Tommaso D’Apice, 1 Alberto De Marchi.

(Replacements: 16 Roberto Santamaria, 17 Luca Redolfini, 18 Andrea De Marchi, 19 George Biagi, 20 Nicola Cattina, 21 Giorgio Bronzini, 22 Riccardo Bocchino, 23 Gabriel Pizarro).