DFP Header Area

O’Gara back for Ireland

Guinness PRO12 Editor

24 Feb 2011


Ireland have made three changes to the team to face Scotland at Murrayfield in the RBS 6 Nations Championship on Sunday.

All three changes are made in the back division where Tommy Bowe, Ronan O’Gara and Eoin Reddan all come into the starting XV.

Ospreys flyer Bowe came through his first match back from injury for the Magners League Champions against Benetton Treviso last weekend and takes his place on the right wing in place of Fergus McFadden.

In a new half-back pairing O’Gara will win his 106th cap, replacing Jonathan Sexton who moves onto the replacements bench while Reddan repalces the injured Tomas O’Leary,

"The boys have trained well between last Thursday in Cork and yesterday and today (in Dublin),” said head coach Declan Kidney.

"Tomas was training with us. He pulled up with a sore back, so that was the only last-minute issue that cropped up.

"Tommy (Bowe) came through the 80 minutes (for the Ospreys last weekend), he came through it well. He's been able to train full out with us. He's be going well this week and obviously he brings his own wealth of experience into the side.

"Ronan's form has been good. He deserves a game. Jonathan has done really well for us in the matches in November and the two Six Nations games to date.

"They'll both play for Ireland again. I just felt that it was right to play Ronan in this game."

15 – Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster)
14 – Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
13 – Brian O'Driscoll (UCD/Leinster) (capt)
12 – Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
11 – Keith Earls (Thomond/Munster)
10 – Ronan O'Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)
9 – Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
1 – Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
2 – Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
3 – Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
4 – Donncha O'Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
5 – Paul O'Connell (Young Munster/Munster)
6 – Sean O'Brien (Clontarf/Leinster)
7 – David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster)
8 – Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster)

16 – Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht)
17 – Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)
18 – Leo Cullen (Blackrock College/Leinster)
19 – Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Munster)
20 – Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster)
21 – Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary's College/Leinster)
22 – Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)