DFP Header Area

Benetton Treviso v Leinster team news

Guinness PRO12 Editor

24 Feb 2011

Benetton Rugby will soon be travelling to Dublin to face the finalists of last season’s Magners League, Leinster, for their next match on the 25th February, kicking-off at 19:10 local time at the Royal Dublin Society.

The two teams have faced each other once already in the Magners League on 18 September, with the historic success going to the green and white's at the Monigo Stadium 29-13.

Tries scored by Luke McLean and Brendan Williams, combined with the points of Tobias Botes and drops by Kristopher Burton, gave a night to remember to Antonio Pavanello and companions.

The league table currently shows Benetton in eight place with 28 points, while Leinster is in fourth place with 43 points.

Both teams, however, are coming from two defeats to this week's match. Treviso lost against the Ospreys with a 18-34 defeat, while the "Dubliners" suffered a 11-3 defeat against the Blues.

The South African coach has announced the starting lineup, with several new and mandatory choices, given the commitments of the national team in the Six Nations.

Joseph Maddock replaces Brendan Williams as fullback and Benjamin De Jager will start on the left wing.

Tobias Botes is not able to play so Ludovico Nitoglia will be his replacement at scrum half.

The front row changes completely with Michele Rizzo and Enrico Ceccato both starting from the first minute. Ignacio Fernandez Rouyet is placed as tight-head prop, to make up for the absence of Lorenzo Cittadini.

Among the replacements, Michele Sutto returns from Petrarca Padova. Simon Picone will sit on the bench after the long shoulder injury before the Edinburgh game.

Here is the team chosen by head coach Franco Smith for the match:

15 Joseph Maddock
14 Michele Sepe
13 Ezio Galon
12 Andrew Vilk
11 Benjamin De Jager
10 Willem De Waal
9 Ludovico Nitoglia
8 Marco Filippucci
7 Gonzalo Padrò
6 Benjamin Vermaak
5 Corniel Van Zyl
4 Antonio Pavanello (captain)
3 Ignacio Fernandez Rouyet
2 Enrico Ceccato
1 Michele Rizzo


16 Franco Sbaraglini
17 Matteo Muccignat
18 Pedro Di Santo
19 Enrico Pavanello
20 Michele Sutto
21 Andrea Pratichetti
22 Andrea Marcato
23 Simon Picone