DFP Header Area

Scotland make seven changes

Guinness PRO12 Editor

23 Feb 2011


Glasgow Warriors fly-half Ruaridh Jackson is one of seven changes to the Scotland team to face Ireland at Murrayfield on Sunday.

Head coach Andy Robinson has rung the changes as Scotland go in search of their first victory of the 2011 RBS 6 Nations tournament after defeats to France and Wales and Jackson will make his first start for his country and Chris Paterson returns to win his 102nd cap.

Hugo Southwell, Joe Ansbro and Rory Lamont all miss out through injury while Sean Lamont, Mike Blair, Moray Low, Richie Gray and Johnnie Beattie are called into the starting line-up.

“We have made changes with a view to securing our first win of the competition and giving our supporters the lift that they deserve,” said Robinson

“We know that Ireland will bring their own distinct physicality and guile to Murrayfield on Sunday and it is up to our squad to front up to that challenge.

“We must play with belief and eliminate the mistakes which have bedevilled us in our opening two games and we must produce a performance that restores the pride in all Scotland supporters.”

The positional switch sees Nick De Luca move from inside centre to the No 13 shirt.

On the bench Geoff Cross and Simon Danielli are involved in a Scotland 22 for the first time this year.