DFP Header Area

Demas returns and San Martin makes his debut as Aironi face Leinster

Guinness PRO12 Editor

9 Feb 2011

The Aironi team shows several changes for their Magners League Round 14 game against Leinster at the RDS in Dublin on Thursday evening.

With several players involved in the Italian squad which will face England and others return ing from Italy A duty carrying injuries Rowland Phillips is forced to opt for a completely new XV.

At fullback Paolo Buso, who scored a try for Italy A against England Saxons, will make his first start after playing the second half against the Blues, while for the first time in this season, Aironi can start with both Kaine Robertson and Danwel Demas adding speed on the wings. Demas is coming back from a car accident he was involved in last October.

There is also a new pairing in the centre with the Argentinian-born duo of Gabriel Pizarro and Horacio San Martin. For San Martin this will be the first game with the Aironi’s shirt.

Tito Tebaldi and James Marshall at half back

Nick Williams also returns at No8 after missing last two matches, and Jaco Erasmus and Nicola Cattina will be the flankers. Marco Bortolami will skipper the team from the second row, with young talent Joshua Furno alongside. The front row is composed of props Fabio Staibano and Alberto De Marchi, with Roberto Santamaria hooking.


15 Paolo Buso; 14 Kaine Robertson, 13 Gabriel Pizarro, 12 Horacio San Martin, 11 Danwel Demas; 10 James Marshall, 9 Tito Tebaldi; 1 Alberto De Marchi, 2 Roberto Santamaria, 3 Fabio Staibano; 4 Marco Bortolami (cap), 5 Joshua Furno; 6 Nicola Cattina, 7 Jaco Erasmus, 8 Nick Williams. Replacements: 16 Luigi Ferraro, 17 Andrea De Marchi, 18 Luca Redolfini, 19 George Biagi, 20 Andrea Benatti, 21 Pietro Travagli, 22 Alberto Benettin, 23 Matteo Pratichetti.