DFP Header Area

Connacht name side to face Dragons

Guinness PRO12 Editor

5 Jan 2011

Connacht Rugby have announced their starting XV that will face the Newport Gwent Dragons.

The squad sees a number of positional changes and 2 personnel changes. Sean Cronin, back from an IRFU imposed break (under the Player Welfare Management Programme), replaces Adrian Flavin at hooker in the starting lineup. Mike McComish has recovered from the illness that ruled him out of last weekend’s clash against Leinster and he replaces Shane Conneely on the bench.

The rest of the pack remains unchanged with Academy star Eoin McKeon retaining his place at number 8 following an impressive display last weekend. The reshuffled backine sees the adaptable Ian Keatley move to fullback with former New Zealand Youths Troy Nathan, who qualifies for Ireland through residency, shift to the wing. Nathan has 64 caps for Connacht and has shown his versatility having played in every position in the backline for the Province. Academy graduate Eoin Griffin moves to outside centre and he is joined on the wing by Fionn Carr, with Brian Tuohy providing cover from the bench.

Connacht XV to fave Newport Gwent Dragons (Rodney Parade Thursday 06/12/2011 – Live RTÉ 2 7.35pm)

15 Ian Keatley
14 Troy Nathan
13 Eoin Griffin
12 Keith Matthews
11 Fionn Carr
10 Miah Nikora
09 Cillian Willis

01 Brett Wilkinson
02 Sean Cronin
03 Jamie Hagan
04 Michael Swift
05 Michael McCarthy
06 Andrew Browne
07 Johnny O’Connor
08 Eoin McKeon

16 Adrian Flavin
17 Rodney Ah You
18 Dylan Rogers
19 Bernie Upton
20 Mike McComish
21 Frank Murphy
22 Niva Ta’auso
23 Brian Tuohy