DFP Header Area

Connacht team to face Leinster

Guinness PRO12 Editor

31 Dec 2010

Head Coach Eric Elwood has announced his starting line-up that will face Leinster in round 12 of the Magners League tomorrow in the RDS. The team sees a number of changes from last weeks game against Munster.

Brett Wilkinson returns from injury and replaces Rob Sweeney in the front row. Wilkinson injured his shoulder playing against Harlequins in the Amlin Challenge Cup at the start of December and the 27 year old prop, who has been capped 106 times for Connacht and played for the Irish Wolfhounds in 2009, will look to return to form.

Hooker Adrian Flavin replaces Sean Cronin, who is being rested as part of the IRFU Player Welfare Management Programme. Flavin, who has played U19, U21 and for Ireland A, has been capped 90 times for Connacht since joining from London Irish in 2006.

Eoin McKeon replaces injured Ezra Taylor at number 8. Taylor fractured his hand last weekend against Munster and McKeon, a 19 year old member of the Connacht Academy, will look to build on the impressive form he showed against Samoa back in November and make the most of the opportunity with John Muldoon also ruled out of contention with a fractured forearm.

Miah Nikora has recovered from the illness that ruled him out of last weekend’s clash with Munster and the 25 year old out-half from Gisborne, New Zealand is joined on the wing by Brian Tuohy, who scored 2 tries against Edinburgh in November with the versatile Ian Keatley moving to outside centre.

Connacht Academy graduate Eoin Griffin returns after a hand injury sidelined the 20 year old winger during Connacht’s game against Edinburgh. Griffin has played for Ireland U19 and U20 and has 5 caps for Connacht.

The side will be captained by Keith Matthews, the 28 year old Limerick born centre is deputising in the absence of the injured John Muldoon for the second game in succession.

Connacht XV to face Leinster (RDS Saturday ko 17.30)

01 Brett Wilkinson
02 Adrian Flavin
03 Jamie Hagan
04 Michael Swift
05 Michael McCarthy
06 Andrew Browne
07 Johnny O’Connor
08 Eoin McKeon
09 Cillian Willis
10 Miah Nikora
11 Brian Tuohy
12 Keith Matthews (C)
13 Ian Keatley
14 Eoin Griffin
15 Troy Nathan

16 Dermot Murphy
17 Rodney Ah You
18 Dylan Rogers
19 Bernie Upton
20 Shane Conneely
21 Frank Murphy
22 Niva Ta’auso
23 Fionn Carr