DFP Header Area

Team confirmed for Firhill derby

Guinness PRO12 Editor

24 Dec 2010

Edinburgh head coach Rob Moffat has today confirmed his team for the opening Greaves Sports 1872 Cup derby against Glasgow Warriors at Firhill on Monday 27 December (kick-off 5.35pm).

The side for this Magners League clash shows four changes from that which saw off Castres 24-22 in a re-arranged Heineken Cup fixture four days ago.

Chris Paterson has not recovered sufficiently from a blow to the shoulder sustained during the course of that game, and has been replaced at full-back by Jim Thompson.

Scott MacLeod, the lock forward who has not featured since suffering a rib injury during Scotland’s EMC Autumn Test win against South Africa last month, returns to the second row alongside Fraser McKenzie, who missed the Castres match with a minor back strain.

The final change to the starting line-up comes in the back row, where Ross Rennie takes the place of Stuart McInally, with captain Roddy Grant moving from openside flanker to No.8.

Moffat confirmed: “I’m happy with the side we’ll be sending out, and I’ve been really impressed by the attitude that the players have shown in training ahead of what is a vital game.

“Chris is feeling a lot better than earlier in the week, but we’ve decided to err on the side of caution and make sure he is absolutely right when he does return to the field again. In terms of replacements, Jim is a very talented player who is more than capable of rising to the level of challenge we’ll all face at Firhill on Monday.

“It’s great to have Scott MacLeod in the fold once more – he’s a big influence in the team and in the dressing room and he and Fraser have worked very well as a pairing this season.

“There’s a real onus on everyone to make sure we deliver a XV-man performance and give ourselves a chance of winning the game. The players all understand that and can’t wait to get out there and stuck in.”


15 Jim Thompson
14 Lee Jones
13 Ben Cairns
12 John Houston
11 Tim Visser
10 David Blair
9 Greig Laidlaw
1 Allan Jacobsen
2 Ross Ford
3 Geoff Cross
4 Scott MacLeod
5 Fraser McKenzie
6 Scott Newlands
8 Roddy Grant (captain)
7 Ross Rennie

16 Andrew Kelly
17 Kyle Traynor
18 David Young
19 Steven Turnbull
20 Stuart McInally
21 James King
22 Nick De Luca
23 Simon Webster