DFP Header Area

Connacht XV to face Edinburgh

Guinness PRO12 Editor

25 Nov 2010

Connacht Rugby have announced the starting XV that will face Edinburgh tomorrow evening in Murrayfield.

Head Coach Eric Elwood has once again blended youth and experience with his selection for Connacht’s Round 9 Magners League game against Edinburgh. Hooker Dermot Murphy wins his 9th cap for the Province after impressing last week against the Ospreys, he lines up next to centurion Brett Wilkinson and former Ireland U20 Jamie Hagan in the front row.

Nikora retains the number 10 jersey after an assured kicking display last week, the 25 year old New Zealander landed all of Connacht 15 points in last week’s narrow loss to the Ospreys. Galway’s Andrew Browne returns to the blindside of the scrum as McCarthy and Swift renew their partnership in the second row. Brian Tuohy and Shane Monahan win their first Magners League starts of the season, both had strong performances in Connacht historic win over Samoa and join Eoin Griffin, Keith Matthews and Gavin Duffy in the back line. Duffy celebrated his 100th cap for Connacht last weekend.

Connacht XV to face Edinburgh (Murrayfield, Edinburgh, ko 7.05pm)

1 Brett Wilkinson
2 Dermot Murphy
3 Jamie Hagan
4 Michael Swift
5 Michael McCarthy
6 Andrew Browne
7 Johnny O’Connor
8 John Muldoon
9 Frank Murphy
10 Miah Nikora
11 Brian Tuohy
12 Keith Matthews
13 Eoin Griffin
14 Shane Monahan
15 Gavin Duffy

16 Ronan Loughney
17 Dylan Rogers
18 Rob Sweeney
19 Bernie Upton
20 Mike McComish
21 Cillian Willis
22 Ian Keatley
23 Troy Nathan