DFP Header Area

Bowe scoops top accolade

Guinness PRO12 Editor

9 Nov 2010


Ireland winger Tommy Bowe has scooped another top award, this time collecting the Irish Rugby Writers’ Player of the Year title.

Bowe who at the end of last season was named Irish and Welsh players’ player and Magners League rugby writers’ player of the year collected the award at a function at the Avivia Stadium in Dublin last night.

The 26-year-old was praised for a having maintained a high level of performance throughout 2010 for Magners League Champions the Ospreys and Ireland.

Bowe became the first Irish international try scorer at the Aviva Stadium when he touched down against South Africa on Saturday and follows in the footstep of Brian O’Driscoll, Ronan O’Gara and Felipe Contepomi in winning the award.

The organising committee had the following to say about Bowe:



Tommy Bowe had an exceptional year winning nearly every award available to him both at home and abroad.

A former Monaghan minor Gaelic footballer, Bowe became the first man from the Farney county to play for Ireland in 80 years when he lined out against the USA in November 2004.

Since then Bowe has established himself as one of Ireland's most consistent performers and was duly rewarded with a call-up to the British & Irish Lions tour to South Africa in the summer of 2009. He has scored five tries in his last six Tests for Ireland.