DFP Header Area

Treviso and Aironi dominate Italian squad

Guinness PRO12 Editor

3 Nov 2010

Italy have named 16 Magners League players in their 25-man squad to face Argentina on November 13.

Azzurri coach Nick Mallett has selected 10 players from Treviso and six from Aironi.

Of the 10 Treviso stars, six are in the forwards and four in the backs, while Aironi provide five forwards and one back in scrum-half Tito Tibaldi.

Treviso duo Edoardo Gori and Tommaso Benvenuti are the major talking points in the squad ahead of the clash with the Pumas.

Scrum-half Gori will challenge Tebaldi and Pablo Canavosio for the number nine shirt and could be given the perfect chance to enhance his claim if he features in Magners League action this weekend.

The 20-year-old has been released to play for his club in Edinburgh on Friday, although it remains unclear whether he will get game time at Murrayfield.

Gori is yet to taste Magners League action for high-flying Treviso, with English-born South African Tobie Botes starring for Franco Smith’s men.

In contrast, Benvenuti has featured in all bar one of Treviso’s first seven Magners League fixtures.

The 19-year-old centre cum wing has played a part in the wins over the Scarlets, Leinster, the Dragons and Connacht as Treviso have began life in the Magners League with a bang.

Benvenuti was a try scorer in that tournament debut win over the Scarlets back in September and has since crossed the whitewash four times in two Heineken Cup matches against Leicester Tigers and Perpignan.

After facing Argentina in Verona, Italy welcome Australia to the Stadio A.Franchini in Firenze on November 20 before hosting Fiji in Modena a week later.

Italy squad to face Argentina

Forwards: Robert Barbieri (Tréviso), Mauro Bergamasco (Stade Français), Lorenzo Cittadini (Tréviso), Martin Castrogiovanni (Leicester Tigers), Carlo Antonio Del Fava (Aironi), Santiago Dellapè (Racing Métro), Paul Derbyshire (Tréviso), Quintin Geldenhuys (Aironi), Leonardo Ghiraldini (Tréviso), Andrea Lo Cicero (Racing Métro), Fabio Onagro (Aironi), Sergio Parisse (capt., Stade Français), Antonio Pavanello (Tréviso), Salvatore Perugini (Aironi), Alessandro Zanni (Tréviso)

Tommaso Benvenuti (Tréviso), Mirco Bergamasco (Racing Métro), Gonzalo Canale (Clérmont-Auvergne), Pablo Canavosio (Aironi), Edoardo Gori (Tréviso), Craig Gower (Bayonne), Andrea Masi (Racing Métro), Luke McLean (Tréviso), Luciano Orquera (Brive), Alberto Sgarbi (Tréviso), Tito Tebaldi (Aironi)