DFP Header Area

Cardiff Blues to face Benetton Treviso

Guinness PRO12 Editor

23 Sep 2010

The Blues travel to Treviso tomorrow (Friday) to take on the Italian champions for the first time – and their first game against Italians in the first Magners League.

David Young has named his squad for the game, which includes Gareth Cooper on the bench having recovered from a double groin operation. Cooper's last game was the LV= Cup semi final against Gloucester in March. Also amongst the replacements are Forwards Kristian Dacey, from the Blues Academy, and summer recruit Tom Davies.

There are six changes to the starting fifteen, one positional, from the line up against the Dragons. Lloyd Williams a late call up to the team last week, keeps his place in the side, as Richie Rees was not considered after suffering a minor calf strain.

Chris Czekaj and Bradley Davies are both rested having played in the first three league games, while Xavier Rush is out with a minor knee injury and Casey Lualala also sits out the match.

Up front Maama Molitika moves across the Back Row to Number 8 and Faao Filise returns to partner Gethin Jenkins in the Front Row, along with this season's current Blues top try scorer (3 tries in 3 games) and last weekend's Man of the Match, T Rhys Thomas.
15 Ben Blair 14 Leigh Halfpenny 13 Tom Shanklin 12 Dafydd Hewitt 11 Tom James 10 Dan Parks 9 Lloyd Williams

8 Maama Molitika 7 Martyn Williams 6 Michael Paterson 5 Paul Tito (capt) 4 Deiniol Jones 3 Faao Filise 2 T Rhys Thomas 1 Gethin Jenkins

16 Kristian Dacey 17 Tom Davies 18 John Yapp 19 Andries Pretorius 20 Sam Warburton 21 Gareth Cooper 22 Ceri Sweeney 23 Gavin Evans

Benetton Treviso continue to be formidable at home gaining a seventh straight win in all competitions against Leinster last Saturday evening. Treviso's overall record at home against Welsh teams is won 3, lost 3.
Cardiff Blues' only defeat in their last eleven encounters in all competitions was 23-34 away to Leinster in the Magners League on 11 September. The Blues have visited Italy on three previous occasions and won all three.

Referee: Andrew McMenemy (SRU, 1st League game).
Assistant Referees: Mauro Dordolo, Francesco Lento (both FIR).
TMO: Stefano Marrama (FIR).