DFP Header Area

Lozada and Rennie return for Leinster visit

Guinness PRO12 Editor

21 Sep 2010

Edinburgh have made three changes, one positional, for their Magners League clash against former Heineken Cup champions and last season’s league runners-up Leinster at Murrayfield on Friday night (kick-off 7.05pm).

Argentine lock Esteban Lozada has recovered from the head knock he sustained against Munster and is restored to a second-row partnership with Scott MacLeod.

In the back-row Ross Rennie returns at openside flanker with captain Roddy Grant switching to No 8 as Netani Talei has a dead leg from last weekend's game against Ulster.

On the bench, international flanker Alan MacDonald could yet be involved in the match squad as he has made good progress from the hip injury he sustained in the opening league game at Cardiff.

Edinburgh head coach Rob Moffat today reflected on the determination within the squad to post their opening league success of the season.

"I've said from the outset that there are quality teams in the Magners League and I don't think many teams will relish trips to Cardiff or Belfast this season.

"We have to approach the Leinster game with both determination and confidence. It's our job this weekend to re-establish winning form on our own patch. We've done some good things in periods during all our games so far but we've also done a few basic things poorly."

The back division is unchanged from the Ulster game, meaning that full-back Chris Paterson, just six points away from reaching the 700 mark in the Magners League, is fit to resume.

Edinburgh have won two of their last three home matches against Leinster and Moffat is encouraging supporters to back his team on Friday. "Traditionally both teams come to play an attractive brand of rugby in this fixture – we went over there at the end of last season and had secured the four try bonus point after 60 minutes – and it's important we give our fans something to get excited about on Friday," he added.

Edinburgh team to play Leinster in the Magners League on Friday 24 September at Murrayfield (kick-off 7.05pm):

15 Chris Paterson
14 Mark Robertson
13 Ben Cairns
12 Alex Grove
11 Tim Visser
10 Phil Godman
9 Mike Blair
1 Allan Jacobsen
2 Ross Ford
3 Geoff Cross
4 Esteban Lozada
5 Scott MacLeod
6 Scott Newlands
8 Roddy Grant captain
7 Ross Rennie


16 Andrew Kelly
17 Kyle Traynor
18 Jack Gilding
19 Craig Hamilton
20 Alan MacDonald or David Denton
21 Greig Laidlaw
22 David Blair
23 John Houston