DFP Header Area

Ulster squad named for Edinburgh match

Guinness PRO12 Editor

16 Sep 2010

Ulster Coach Brian McLaughlin has named his starting XV and replacements for this Friday’s Magners League match against Edinburgh at Ravenhill (ko 8.05pm).

There are four changes of personnel to the back line from the team that defeated Aironi last weekend at the Stadio Zaffanella.

Jamie Smith replaces Adam D'Arcy at full-back, USA Eagle Paul Emerick and Andrew Trimble, who returns from injury, replace Tommy Seymour and David McIlwaine on the wings, while Ian Whitten partners Darren Cave in the centre, replacing Paddy Wallace who is rested as part of the IRFU Player Management Programme.
Up front, injury to Declan Fitzpatrick means there is a positional change as Tom Court switches to the loosehead berth and Bryan Young is drafted in while Andi Kyriacou is named at hooker.

Captain Johann Muller will be partnered this week by Tim Barker in the engine room while the only change to the back row is the inclusion of Stephen Ferris (rested last weekend) with Pedrie Wannenburg moving to the bench.
In their last Ravenhill match, Edinburgh defeated Ulster 13-16 and Muller and his men will be out to avenge that scoreline. The match kicks off at 8.05pm. Gates open at 6pm and tickets will be available to purchase then.

ULSTER: (15-9) Jamie Smith; Paul Emerick, Darren Cave, Ian Whitten, Andrew Trimble; Niall O'Connor, Paul Marshall (1-8) Bryan Young, Andi Kyriacou, Tom Court, Johann Muller (Captain), Ryan Caldwell, Stephen Ferris, Chris Henry, Robbie Diack

Replacements (16-23) Rory Best, Paddy McAllister, BJ Botha, Tim Barker, Pedrie Wannenburg, Ian Porter, Ian Humphreys, David McIlwaine