DFP Header Area

Young names side to face Leinster

Guinness PRO12 Editor

10 Sep 2010

New recruit Michael Paterson is set to start for Blues against Leinster this Saturday, 6.30pm kick off.

The big Kiwi back row forward made his debut for the Blues against Exeter in a pre season friendly, but the match against the former Heineken Cup champions will be his competitive debut having sat out last Saturday’s win over Edinburgh.

The Blues will look to build on the victory when they travel to the Irish capital but know it will be a big ask with their only previous victory in Dublin in the Magners League was 22-18 against Leinster at Donnybrook in March 2004.

There are three other changes in the pack to the starting XV that defeated Edinburgh with Tom Davies, Deiniol Jones and Sam Warburton all starting having been on the bench last weekend.

The only change in the backs sees Dafydd Hewitt coming in for Tom Shanklin at centre.

Cardiff Blues: 15 Chris Czekaj 14 Richard Mustoe 13 Casey Laulala 12 Dafydd Hewitt 11 Tom James 10 Dan Parks 9 Richie Rees 8 Xavier Rush (c) 7 Sam Warburton 6 Michael Paterson 5 Deiniol Jones 4 Bradley Davies 3 Scott Andrews 2 T Rhys Thomas 1 Tom Davies

Replacements: 16 Rhys Williams 17 John Yapp 18 Fa’ao Filise 19 James Down 20 Ben White 21 Lloyd Williams 22 Ceri Sweeney 23 Gavin Evans