DFP Header Area

Leinster and Munster A meet

Guinness PRO12 Editor

10 Sep 2010

Leinster and Munster’s A sides lock horns on Sunday at Donnybrook in an inter-provincial fixture as the sides prepare for the British and Irish Cup which kicks off in December.

There will be plenty of experience on show, with Anthony Foley’s Munster side featuring Heineken Cup winner Denis Hurley alongside Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell, Darragh Hurley and James Coughlan who have over 100 senior Munster caps between them.

The same can be said for Leinster, with Stephen Keogh leading a side that includes new signings Mariano Galarza and Ben Prescott alongside Ireland international Rhys Ruddock, who won his first senior cap on the summer tour to Australia and New Zealand.

The provinces’ two senior sides meet in the Magners League on Saturday, October 2, with a sell-out crowd expected at the new Aviva Stadium.

Munster will be looking for revenge in Dublin, with Leinster knocking their rivals out at the semi-final stage of the Magners League last season, as well as completing a league double over Tony McGahan’s side.

Leinster A: Ian Madigan, Andrew Conway, Brendan Macken, Eamonn Sheridan, David Kearney, Ian McKinley, Paul O’Donohoe, Jack McGrath, Jason Harris-Wright, Ben Prescott, Mariano Galarza, Trevor Hogan, Stephen Keogh (captain), Paul Ryan, Ben Marshall

Replacements: Tom Sexton, Stewart Maguire, Ronan McCormack, Eoin Sheriff, Rhys Ruddock, John Cooney, Noel Reid, Michael Keating

Munster A: Sean Scanlon; Denis Hurley, Ivan Dineen, Troy Smith, Simon Zebo; Scott Deasy, Duncan Williams; Darragh Hurley, Sean Henry, Stephen Archer; Dave Foley (captain), Ian Nagle; Billy Holland, Tommy O'Donnell, James Coughlan

Replacements: Ger Burke, Dave Kilcoyne, Alan Cotter, Dave O'Callaghan, Paddy Butler, Conor Murray, Eric Maloney, Ronan O'Mahoney