DFP Header Area

Leinster team to face Cardiff Blues

Guinness PRO12 Editor

9 Sep 2010

The Leinster team to face the Cardiff Blues in Saturday’s Magners League clash at the RDS (KO: 6.30pm) has been named.

Shane Jennings leads the side which includes fellow Ireland internationals Brian O’Driscoll and Jonathan Sexton for the visit of the Welsh side. Isaac Boss links up with Sexton at half-back, with Fergus McFadden partnering O’Driscoll at centre.

Mike Ross has recovered from injury to take his place in the front-row alongside Richardt Strauss and Heinke van der Merwe, while Jennings joins fellow Ireland internationals Jamie Heaslip and Sean O’Brien in the back-row.

Cian Healy and Eoin Reddan are included on the bench for the first time this season. There will be ‘Family Day’ activities and a host of other events in and around the ground starting from 5pm.

Over 15,000 tickets have been sold for Saturday’s game and are still available from Spar (Donnybrook) and the Leinster Rugby Store (Donnybrook), www.leinsterrugby.ie and from Ticketmaster outlets nationwide.

Meanwhile, ticket sales for the Magners League clash against Munster in the Aviva Stadium on Saturday, 2nd October have hit the 40,000 mark. Visit www.leinsterrugby.ie today for details.


15: Luke Fitzgerald
14: Shane Horgan
13: Brian O’Driscoll
12: Fergus McFadden
11: Isa Nacewa
10: Jonathan Sexton
9: Isaac Boss

1: Heinke van der Merwe
2: Richardt Strauss
3: Mike Ross
4: Nathan Hines
5: Ed O’Donoghue
6: Sean O’Brien
7: Shane Jennings CAPTAIN
8: Jamie Heaslip


16: John Fogarty
17: Cian Healy
18: Simon Shawe
19: Mariano Galarza
20: Dominic Ryan
21: Eoin Reddan
22: Ian Madigan
23: Eoin O’Malley

REFEREE: Andy Macpherson (ARU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Simon McDowell, Jonathan Peak (both IRFU), 4th OFFICIAL: Paul Haycock (ARLB), 5th OFFICIAL: tbc (ARLB), TMO: Tom Redmond (IRFU)