DFP Header Area

Leinster squad to face Glasgow

Guinness PRO12 Editor

1 Sep 2010

The Leinster squad to face the Glasgow Warriors in Friday night’s Magners League opener at Firhill Stadium (KO: 7.05pm) has been named.

Ireland trio John Fogarty, Jamie Heaslip and Shane Horgan have been named in an enlarged 24-man panel with a team announcement now expected on Thursday lunchtime for the trip to Scotland which marks Leinster’s 300th game of the professional era.

Meanwhile, Leinster are pleased to confirm the arrival of tight-head prop Ben Prescott who has joined the province from Nottingham until the end of the season and is also named in the squad.

The 32-year-old Irish qualified front-rower, who weighs 115kg and stands at 1.83m, was born in Libya, and was named on the National Division 1 Team of Year last season and previously played for Glasgow and Rotherham.

Leinster Manager Guy Easterby commented: “We are pleased to complete a deal for Ben and he will add further competition to the pack, especially in light of the unfortunate long-term injury to Stan Wright. Ben trained with the squad this week and we are confident that his experience and ability will be a welcome addition to the panel for the remainder of the season.”

Leinster squad to face Glasgow Warriors

FORWARDS: John Fogarty, Mariano Galarza,Jamie Heaslip, Nathan Hines, Stephen Keogh, Jack McGrath, Sean O’Brien, Ed O’Donoghue, Ben Prescott, Mike Ross, Dominic Ryan, Simon Shawe, Richardt Strauss, Heinke van der Merwe

BACKS: Isaac Boss, Luke Fitzgerald, Shane Horgan, Ian Madigan, Fergus McFadden, Niall Morris, Isa Nacewa, Paul O’Donohoe, Eoin O’Malley, Eamonn Sheridan