DFP Header Area

Pumas star joins Glasgow

Guinness PRO12 Editor

23 Jun 2010


Magners League 2010 Play-Off side Glasgow Warriors have snapped up Argentinean international centre Federico Aramburu.

The player who scored a try in the Rugby World Cup semi-finals in France in 2007 has played for Perpignan and Biarritz Olympique in the past and joins the top Scottish side from another French club, Dax.

“Federico is a quality player with loads of experience having played at international level and in France with Perpignan and Biarritz. He will add real quality and competition to our outside backs,” said Warriors coach Sean Lineen.

The 30-year-old Aramburu made his debut for the Pumas against Chile in 2004 and currently has scored seven tries in 14 Test outings.

Signing for Glasgow appealed to me because they are a club performing well in the Magners League and Heineken Cup.The team enjoyed success in reaching the Magners League play-off last season and their future ambitions match my own,” said Aramburu.

“This year is an important one as the Rugby World Cup approaches, so to play for a club that is performing well is essential.”

Glasgow have also re-singed Colin Shaw on a full time basis after his 12 months spent on the IRB Sevens circuit with the Scottish national side, while No 8 Ryan Wilson is joining from English Championship outfit Moseley.

“I was impressed with Ryan's attitude when he came up to speak with us. He's a big unit and wants to succeed and he will further strengthen our back-row,” said Lineen.

Glasgow Warriors Squad update (as at 23 June, 2010)

INS – Federico Aramburu (Dax), Alex Dunbar (Selkirk & National Academy), Chris Fusaro (Heriot's & National Academy), Ryan Grant (Edinburgh), Rob Harley (West of Scotland & National Academy), Aly Muldowney (Moseley), Henry Pyrgos (Loughborough University), Colin Shaw (Scotland 7s), Duncan Weir (Glasgow Hawks & National Academy), Ryan Wilson (Moseley)

RE-SIGNED – John Barclay, Johnnie Beattie, Calum Forrester, Richie Gray, Dougie Hall, Ruaridh Jackson, Alastair Kellock, Moray Low, Dave McCall, Bernardo Stortoni, Jon Welsh

OUTS – Tim Barker, Kelly Brown, Chris Kinloch, Mark McMillan, Dan Parks, Dan Turner, Justin Va'a