DFP Header Area

Kellock to lead Scotland

Guinness PRO12 Editor

10 Jun 2010

Glasgow Warriors skipper Ali Kellock will lead Scotland for the first time when they take on the Pumas in the first of their two Tests in Argentina on Saturday.

The 29-year-old Kellock takes over from injured team mate Chris Cusiter in captaining his country. His side shows two changes from the team that ended the 2010 RBS 6 Nations on a high with a 23-20 Triple Crown denying victory over Ireland in Dublin.

The alterations see Rory Lawson replace the injured Chris Cusiter at scrum-half and Moray Low come in at tight-head prop for the recuperating Euan Murray. It will be Lawson's second start in the Scottish jersey even though it will be his 19th cap.

Kellock, who led the Warriors into the Magners League Play-Offs last season, actually took control of the Scottish side against Australia last November when Cusiter was replaced by Lawson. On that occasion, the Scots conjured up a famous 9-8 victory.

“I expect Ali to lead from the front as he has done with his performances this year for Scotland," declared Scottish coach Andy Robinson.

As for Kellock, who will become Scotland’s 110th international captain on the day he will win his 26th cap, he is just looking to stepping into the Tucuman “bear pit” and producing another landmark victory for his side.

While Lawson and Low come into the starting line-up, Edinburgh forwards Geoff Cross and Scott MacLeod join the match-day 22 along with their uncapped clubmate Jim Thompson and Gloucester back rower Alasdair Strokosch.

15 Hugo Southwell (Stade Francais)
14 Max Evans (Glasgow Warriors)
13 Nick De Luca (Edinburgh)
12 Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors)
11 Sean Lamont (Scarlets)
10 Dan Parks (Glasgow Warriors)
9 Rory Lawson (Gloucester)

1 Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh)
2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh)
3 Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors)

4 Jim Hamilton (Edinburgh)
5 Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors) CAPTAIN
6 Kelly Brown (Glasgow Warriors)
7 John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors)
8 Johnnie Beattie (Glasgow Warriors)
16 Scott Lawson (Gloucester)
17 Geoff Cross (Edinburgh)
18 Scott MacLeod (Edinburgh)
19 Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester)
20 Mike Blair (Edinburgh)
21 Phil Godman (Edinburgh)
22 Jim Thompson (Edinburgh)