DFP Header Area

Ospreys stick with tried and tested

Guinness PRO12 Editor

28 May 2010

The Ospreys have a named an unchanged team for Saturday’s Magners League Grand Final against Leinster in Dublin.

The Welsh region include eight British & Irish Lions in a starting side of 15 full internationals for the end-of-season finale.

Two former All Blacks will line up for the Ospreys at the RDS, with Ireland wing Tommy Bowe joining 12 Welsh internationals in the run-on side.

Scott Johnson names James Hook at inside centre and Dan Biggar at fly-half in a backline that also includes former IRB World Player of the Year Shane Williams and current Irish and Wales Players’ Player of the Year Bowe.

Wales skipper Ryan Jones captains the side from No8, with New Zealanders Jerry Collins and Marty Holah named at blindside and openside respectively.

Adam Jones, Huw Bennett and Paul James make up an all-Welsh front row, while fellow Wales caps Alun Wyn Jones and Jonathan Thomas form an athletic lock partnership.

Andrew Bishop joins Hook in midfield and Lee Byrne is named alongside Lions team-mates Bowe and Williams in the back three.

Filo Tiatia will make his final appearance for the region if he comes off the bench in the Irish capital.

Ospreys (vs Leinster, RDS, Saturday, 6.30pm)

15 Lee Byrne
14 Tommy Bowe
13 Andrew Bishop
12 James Hook
11 Shane Williams
10 Dan Biggar
9 Mike Phillips

1 Paul James
2 Huw Bennett
3 Adam Jones
4 Alun Wyn Jones
5 Jonathan Thomas
6 Jerry Collins
7 Marty Holah
8 Ryan Jones (captain)


16 Ed Shervington
17 Ryan Bevington
18 Ian Gough
19 Filo Tiatia
20 Jamie Nutbrown
21 Gareth Owen
22 Nikki Walker