DFP Header Area

Ospreys and Warriors name strong sides

Guinness PRO12 Editor

13 May 2010


Both the Ospreys and Glasgow Warriors have named near full-strength sides for Friday night’s mouth-watering Play-Off semi-final.

The Ospreys have no fresh injury worries while Glasgow boss Sean Lineen came close to naming his first-choice side but will have to do without scrum-half Chris Cusiter.

The Scotland skipper has been sidelined with a knee injury picked up in last week’s bonus-point win at the Scarlets so Mark McMillan deputises at No9.

The Ospreys include eight British & Irish Lions in a starting side of 15 full internationals, while the Warriors can call on 12 players capped by their countries for the Liberty Stadium showdown.

Scott Johnson names James Hook at inside centre and Dan Biggar at fly-half for the home side, with former All Black duo Jerry Collins and Marty Holah selected alongside skipper Ryan Jones in the back row.

Ali Kellock captains a Glasgow side that features five personnel changes and two positional switches from the team that triumphed 37-32 in Llanelli.

Max Evans comes in for Hefin O’Hare at outside centre; Ed Kalman takes over from Kevin Tkachuk at loose-head prop; Tim Barker replaces Richie Gray at lock; Claum Forrester makes way for John Barclay in the back row and McMillan starts in place of Cusiter.

Rob Dewey and DTH van der Merwe swap wings and Kelly Brown reverts back to the blindside flank so that Barclay can start on the openside.

The Ospreys are unchanged from the side that secured a home semi-final thanks to a 40-point win over the Dragons last time out. 

Ospreys vs Glasgow Warriors, Liberty Stadium, Friday, kick-off 7.05pm


15 Lee Byrne
14 Tommy Bowe
13 Andrew Bishop
12 James Hook
11 Shane Williams
10 Dan Biggar
9 Mike Phillips

1 Paul James
2 Huw Bennett
3 Adam Jones
4 Alun Wyn Jones
5 Jonathan Thomas
6 Jerry Collins
7 Marty Holah
8 Ryan Jones (captain)


16 Ed Shervington
17 Ryan Bevington
18 Ian Gough
19 Filo Tiatia
20 Jamie Nutbrown
21 Gareth Owen
22 Nikki Walker

Glasgow Warriors

15 Bernardo Stortoni
14 Rob Dewey
13 Max Evans
12 Graeme Morrison
11 DTH van der Merwe
10 Dan Parks
9 Mark McMillan

1 Ed Kalman
2 Fergus Thomson
3 Moray Low
4 Tim Barker
5 Alastair Kellock (captain)
6 Kelly Brown
7 John Barclay
8 Johnnie Beattie


16 Pat MacArthur
17 Kevin Tkachuk
18 Dan Turner
19 James Eddie
20 Hefin O’Hare
21 Duncan Weir
22 Colin Shaw