DFP Header Area

Ulster team named for Edinburgh at Murrayfield

Guinness PRO12 Editor

23 Apr 2010

Ulster Head Coach Brian McLaughlin has named his starting XV, plus replacements, ahead of Sunday’s Magners League match, against Edinburgh, at Murrayfield, kick off 4.05pm.

The backs see Jamie Smith return as full back, with Simon Danielli moving to the wing. With Danielli back in position, Nevin Spence drops to the bench. Niall O’Connor starts at out half, with Ian Humphreys beginning the Magners clash as a replacement.

In the pack, a front row re-shuffle sees Captain Rory Best start as hooker, with BJ Both as tight head prop. Andy Kryicaou is named as a replacement, while Declan Fitzpatrick is rotated to the Ravens Team ahead of their British and Irish Cup semi final against Munster A, this Saturday at Thomond Park. Dan Tuohy is called up to the second row in place of Ryan Caldwell. A fully fit Stephen Ferris will start at No6, with Willie Faloon as open side flanker.

Commenting on the Magners League fixture, Ulster Coach Brian McLaughlin said: "We are all very positive heading to face Edinburgh. We have played them quite a few times this season; the last time at Ravenhill we gained the points. In September, when we faced them in the league, we were narrowly defeated by 3 points. We had a really strong first half, but just couldn’t sustain it, and that’s been our problem over the last number of games, doing well early on, but just unable to sustain it until the final whistle.

"The players are training hard, and working well together. Everyone knows what is expected of them. Yesterday the IRFU Defence Coach Les Kiss was up doing a lot of work with us, and our attack is solid.

"So it is just a matter of going out at Murrayfield on Sunday with the attitude that we can gain the victory.

"We have to be mentally and physically tough and make sure we don’t give away soft, cheap and easy points," continued McLaughlin.

Ulster Team
(15-9) Jamie Smith, Andrew Trimble, Darren Cave, Ian Whitten, Simon Danielli, Niall O’Connor, Paul Marshall

(1-8) Tom Court, Rory Best (Capt), BJ Botha, Ed O’Donoghue, Dan Tuohy, Stephen Ferris, Willie Faloon, Robbie Diack

(16-22) Andy Kyricaou, Bryan Young, Ryan Caldwell, TJ Anderson, Isaac Boss, Ian Humphreys, Nevin Spence