DFP Header Area

It’s as you were for Irish

Guinness PRO12 Editor

10 Mar 2010

Ireland have named an unchanged side for Saturday’s mouth-watering Six Nations encounter with Wales.

Declan Kidney has stuck with his selection of 14 Magners League stars and one Guinness Premiership player for the Round 4 tie at Croke Park.

But the former Munster boss does make a change to his replacements bench, with Leinster’s Rob Kearney returning after injury.

The Lions full back missed the win over England at Twickenham a fortnight ago but has since recovered from the knee injury that kept him out of that game.

Geordan Murphy’s retention at full back and Kearney’s inclusion in the matchday 22 means there is no place for Ulster’s Andrew Trimble.

Skipper Brian O’Driscoll will win his 100th Ireland cap, while Jonathan Sexton retains the fly-half shirt ahead of Ronan O’Gara.

Reigning Magners League Champions Munster provide six players to the starting line up, with two more on the bench, while Leinster contribute five men to Kidney’s first XV plus a further four named among the replacements.

There are two Ulstermen in the starting XV in hooker Rory Best and blindside Stephen Ferris, with Tommy Bowe of the Ospreys also starting at Croke Park.

Replacement hooker Sean Cronin is the solitary face from Connacht in the matchday squad.


15 Geordan Murphy (Leicester)
14 Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
13 Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster, captain)
12 Gordon D’Arcy (Leinster)
11 Keith Earls (Munster)
10 Jonathan Sexton (Leinster)
9 Tomas O’Leary (Munster)

1 Cian Healy (Leinster)
2 Rory Best (Ulster)
3 John Hayes (Munster)
4 Donncha O’Callaghan (Munster)
5 Paul O’Connell (Munster)
6 Stephen Ferris (Ulster)
7 David Wallace (Munster)
8 Jamie Heaslip (Leinster)


16 Sean Cronin (Connacht)
17 Tony Buckley (Munster)
18 Leo Cullen (Leinster)
19 Shane Jennings (Leinster)
20 Eoin Reddan (Leinster)
21 Ronan O’Gara (Munster)
22 Rob Kearney (Leinster)