DFP Header Area

Munster name squad after six-week break

Guinness PRO12 Editor

18 Feb 2010

Munster return to competitive action for the first time in over six weeks when they take on Edinburgh in the Magners League at Musgrave Park tomorrow evening (8pm).

The match day squad named today by coach Tony McGahan sees nine changes, two positional, from that selected for the postponed game against Scarlets back on January 10.

Six of those changes are brought about by the non availability of the internationals, with the positional changes seeing Paul Warwick switch from full back to out-half, Denis Hurley moving to the last line with Ian Dowling coming on to the wing.

Last time around, Wian Du Preez was in the front row in place of Marcus Horan, but a fit again Horan takes his place in an otherwise unchanged front row.

Mick O’Driscoll leads the side with Donnacha Ryan alongside him in the second row, while the one change in the back-row sees James Coughlan in for David Wallace at number 8 where he performed in Munster’s last outing against Ulster in Ravenhill.

There’s a decidedly youthful look to the Munster bench with Academy duo Mike Sherry and Scott Deasy included along with Development pair, Duncan Williams and Tommy O’Donnell.

Munster: D Hurley; D Howlett, L Mafi, J de Villiers, I Dowling; P Warwick, P Stringer; M Horan, D Fogarty, T Buckley; D Ryan, M O’Driscoll capt; A Quinlan, N Ronan, J Coughlan
Replacements: M Sherry, J Brugnaut, B Holland, T O’Donnell, D Williams, S Deasy, T Gleeson.