DFP Header Area

All bar one for Magners League Scots

Guinness PRO12 Editor

2 Feb 2010

Scotland will start with 14 Magners League players when they kick off their 2010 Six Nations campaign against France on Sunday afternoon.

Andy Robinson has selected nine Glasgow Warriors in his starting line up, with three players from Edinburgh and one apiece from the Scarlets, Leinster and Gloucester.

The Warriors have been rewarded for a superb Magners League season to date, with the table toppers providing five members of the starting pack and four members of the backline.

Chris Cusiter captains the side from scrum-half, with the Evans brothers, Tom and Max, named on the right wing and outside centre respectively, while Graeme Morrison is selected in the No12 shirt.

Glasgow team-mates Moray Low and Alastair Kellock start at prop and lock, with Kelly Brown, John Barclay and Johnnie Beattie forming an all-Warriors back row for the French visit to Murrayfield.

Edinburgh veteran Chris Paterson will win his 99th cap when he starts at full back, with club colleagues Phil Godman and Ross Ford also included.

Scarlets wing Sean Lamont and Leinster second row Nathan Hines are both in the starting XV, as is Gloucester prop Alasdair Dickinson.

An impressive start to the Magners League season sees uncapped Glasgow lock Richie Gray win a place on the bench despite being just 20 years of age.

“There has been improved competition for places since the Autumn Tests and selection has been based both on achievements within the autumn matches and on current form,” said Robinson, who enters his first Six Nations as Scotland boss.

“France have a fantastic squad. The fact they defeated New Zealand in Dunedin last June illustrates that they can win and win well away from home.

“We are excited about the start of the Championship but we know that we have not won our first game in the competition since 2006, so all our focus is on making a winning start against France on Sunday.”

Scotland squad to play France on Sunday February 7 at Murrayfield

15 Chris Paterson (Edinburgh)
14 Thom Evans (Glasgow Warriors)
13 Max Evans (Glasgow Warriors)
12 Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors)
11 Sean Lamont (Scarlets)
10 Phil Godman (Edinburgh)
9 Chris Cusiter (captain) (Glasgow Warriors)

1 Alasdair Dickinson (Gloucester)
2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh)
3 Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors)
4 Nathan Hines (Leinster)
5 Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors)
6 Kelly Brown (Glasgow Warriors)
8 Johnnie Beattie (Glasgow Warriors)
7 John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors)


16 Scott Lawson (Gloucester)
17 Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh)
18 Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors)
19 Alan MacDonald (Edinburgh)
20 Rory Lawson (Gloucester)
21 Alex Grove (Worcester)
22 Hugo Southwell (Stade Francais)