DFP Header Area

Triple success as O’Driscoll is voted the decade’s best

Guinness PRO12 Editor

6 Jan 2010

Leinster centre Brian O’Driscoll has been voted Player of the Decade by one of the game’s leading publications, while two other Magners League stars have also received recognition.

Rugby World Magazine named 30-year-old O’Driscoll the best player to have graced the game between 2000 and 2010 as they announced their team of the noughties.

Having played all his domestic rugby with 2008 Magners League winners Leinster, O’Driscoll has regularly been one of the leading lights throughout the last 10 years.

O’Driscoll is in line for his 50th Magners League start in the next round of league action and has scored 18 tries to date in his Magners League career.

The former Blackrock College star announced his arrival on the world stage in 2000 with a stunning hat-trick in Ireland’s Six Nations victory over France in Paris.

He went on to score a sensational solo try in the British & Irish Lions’ First Test win over the Wallabies a year later and has since toured on two more occasions with Britain and Ireland’s elite.

O’Driscoll skippered the Lions in 2005 and was a key member of the Test side that ran the world champion Springboks close in South Africa last summer.

He captained Ireland to their first Grand Slam in 61 years last March and now has more than 100 caps for Ireland and the Lions.

He led Leinster to the Heineken Cup crown in May 2009 and has been nominated for the IRB World Player of the Year Award on three occasions.

Joining O’Driscoll in the Rugby World Team of the Decade are fellow Magners League stars Shane Williams and Gethin Jenkins.

The Welsh duo have both established themselves as world-class performers during their time with the Ospreys and the Celtic Warriors and Cardiff Blues respectively.

Both players have been on the last two Lions tours, while Williams was voted IRB World Player of the Year in 2008. 

Rugby World Team of the Decade

M Muliana (New Zealand); J Robinson (England), B O’Driscoll (Leinster, Ireland), M Giteau (Australia), S Williams (Ospreys, Wales); D Carter (New Zealand), A Pichot (Argentina); G Jenkins (Cardiff Blues, Wales), J Smit (South Africa), C Hayman (New Zealand), M Johnson (England, capt), V Matfield (South Africa), R Hill (England), R McCaw (New Zealand), S Parisse (Italy) 

Replacements: R Roncero (Argentina), M Ledesma (Argentina), S Marconnet (France), JM Fernandez Lobbe (Argentina), F Du Preez (South Africa), J Wilkinson (England), Y Jauzion (France), JM Hernandez (Argentina)